Biosimilars in development
Which biosimilar candidates are in trials, how far they have got, and who is behind them, for every molecule in the Atlas.
Current landscape: what is coming for each molecule
What stands out
- Most crowded aheadAdalimumab has the most candidates on the way, nine with no approval yet, followed by bevacizumab (eight) and rituximab (five).
- Nearest to marketOf the 68 unapproved candidates, 36 have reached phase 3, the last trial before a filing, so they are the products most likely to appear in the register over the next two years; 32 are still at the pharmacokinetic stage.
- Most active sponsorsBiocad leads the sponsors with four unapproved candidates, ahead of Generium and AryoGen Pharmed.
- Nothing new comingNo unapproved candidate is visible for golimumab, natalizumab: every trial found there belongs to a product already approved somewhere.
- No trials foundNothing at all was found for teriparatide, somatropin, enoxaparin sodium, agalsidase beta, interferon alfa-2b, which mostly reflects how those products are registered rather than an empty field.
Summary by molecule
| Molecule | Candidates with no approval yet | Past phase 3 | Pharmacokinetic stage | Already approved | Trials found | Trials still open |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Adalimumab Immunology | 9 | 3 | 6 | 18 | 21 | · |
| Bevacizumab Oncology | 8 | 4 | 4 | 19 | 19 | 1 |
| Rituximab Oncology | 5 | 4 | 1 | 12 | 12 | · |
| Trastuzumab Oncology | 5 | 2 | 3 | 13 | 9 | · |
| Denosumab Endocrinology | 4 | 3 | 1 | 17 | 18 | · |
| Pertuzumab Oncology | 4 | 2 | 2 | 4 | 5 | 1 |
| Etanercept Immunology | 3 | 2 | 1 | 7 | 7 | 1 |
| Ranibizumab Ophthalmology | 3 | 2 | 1 | 15 | 7 | 1 |
| Insulin human Diabetes | 3 | · | 3 | 10 | 3 | · |
| Omalizumab Immunology | 3 | · | 3 | 3 | 3 | · |
| Ustekinumab Immunology | 2 | 1 | 1 | 13 | 9 | 1 |
| Aflibercept Ophthalmology | 2 | 2 | · | 13 | 6 | 1 |
| Epoetin alfa and zeta Hematology | 2 | 2 | · | 10 | 3 | · |
| Abatacept Immunology | 2 | · | 2 | 0 | 2 | · |
| Insulin lispro Diabetes | 2 | 2 | · | 4 | 2 | · |
| Vedolizumab Immunology | 2 | 2 | · | 0 | 2 | · |
| Pegfilgrastim Hematology | 1 | 1 | · | 18 | 8 | · |
| Infliximab Immunology | 1 | 1 | · | 7 | 4 | · |
| Eculizumab Rare disease | 1 | · | 1 | 2 | 3 | · |
| Tocilizumab Immunology | 1 | 1 | · | 6 | 3 | 1 |
| Filgrastim Hematology | 1 | · | 1 | 12 | 2 | · |
| Insulin aspart Diabetes | 1 | 1 | · | 5 | 2 | · |
| Darbepoetin alfa Hematology | 1 | · | 1 | 6 | 1 | · |
| Follitropin alfa Fertility | 1 | 1 | · | 5 | 1 | · |
| Insulin glargine Diabetes | 1 | · | 1 | 12 | 1 | · |
| Golimumab Immunology | · | · | · | 4 | 2 | · |
| Natalizumab Neurology | · | · | · | 1 | 1 | · |
Sponsors with unapproved candidates
Ranked by the number of their candidates with no approval yet in the seven markets. Companies with an Atlas page are linked.
| Sponsor | Unapproved candidates | Molecules |
|---|---|---|
| Biocad | 4 | adalimumab, bevacizumab, filgrastim, infliximab, pertuzumab, rituximab, trastuzumab |
| Generium | 4 | omalizumab, tocilizumab, ustekinumab |
| AryoGen Pharmed | 3 | denosumab, etanercept, trastuzumab |
| Incepta Pharmaceuticals | 3 | adalimumab, ranibizumab, trastuzumab |
| Alvotech | 2 | adalimumab, aflibercept, denosumab, golimumab, ustekinumab, vedolizumab |
| Biomabs | 2 | denosumab, infliximab |
| Julphar | 2 | insulin human |
| Momenta | 2 | abatacept, adalimumab |
| Qilu Pharmaceutical | 2 | aflibercept, follitropin alfa, pegfilgrastim |
| Shanghai Henlius Biotech | 2 | adalimumab, pertuzumab, rituximab, trastuzumab |
| Shanghai Institute of Biological Products | 2 | rituximab, trastuzumab |
| Turgut | 2 | adalimumab, eculizumab |
| mAbxience | 2 | bevacizumab, denosumab, etanercept, rituximab |
| 3SBio | 1 | epoetin alfa and zeta |
| Alteogen | 1 | trastuzumab |
| Amphastar | 1 | insulin aspart |
| BioDlink | 1 | bevacizumab |
| BioFactura | 1 | ustekinumab |
| Biocon Biologics | 1 | adalimumab, pertuzumab |
| Biointegrator | 1 | rituximab |
| CSPC | 1 | pertuzumab |
| Chia Tai Tianqing | 1 | trastuzumab |
| Chong Kun Dang | 1 | ranibizumab |
| CinnaGen | 1 | adalimumab |
| Coherus BioSciences | 1 | etanercept |
| Dr. Reddy's Laboratories | 1 | abatacept, rituximab |
| EirGenix | 1 | pertuzumab |
| Eurofarma | 1 | pegfilgrastim |
| Gan & Lee Pharmaceuticals | 1 | insulin lispro |
| Hengrui | 1 | bevacizumab |
| Innovent | 1 | bevacizumab |
| Laboratorios Pisa | 1 | insulin human |
| Luye | 1 | denosumab |
| Mabion | 1 | rituximab |
| Mabwell | 1 | denosumab |
| Meiji Seika Pharma | 1 | adalimumab |
| Nanogen | 1 | darbepoetin alfa |
| Pfenex | 1 | ranibizumab |
| Polpharma Biologics | 1 | natalizumab, vedolizumab |
| Prestige Biopharma | 1 | bevacizumab, trastuzumab |
| Richmond | 1 | adalimumab |
| Sinocelltech (hospital sponsor) | 1 | bevacizumab |
| Syneos Health (CRO sponsor) | 1 | omalizumab |
| TRPharm | 1 | bevacizumab |
| Teruisi | 1 | bevacizumab |
| UBI Pharma | 1 | epoetin alfa and zeta |
| Universitas Indonesia | 1 | insulin glargine |
| Viatris | 1 | adalimumab |
| Wockhardt | 1 | insulin lispro |
A candidate in a phase 3 trial today is a competitor at launch in two to three years. EvySaif builds that view into a regulatory and market-entry assessment for developers weighing a molecule. Regulatory strategy consulting
All trials, molecule by molecule
Ordered by the number of unapproved candidates. Jump to: adalimumab · bevacizumab · rituximab · trastuzumab · denosumab · pertuzumab · etanercept · ranibizumab · insulin human · omalizumab · ustekinumab · aflibercept · epoetin alfa and zeta · abatacept · insulin lispro · vedolizumab · pegfilgrastim · infliximab · eculizumab · tocilizumab · filgrastim · insulin aspart · darbepoetin alfa · follitropin alfa · insulin glargine · golimumab · natalizumab.
Adalimumab
Nine candidates with no approval yet, three of them past phase 3 (Advixa, BCD-057, M923); eighteen products already approved in the seven markets.
| Candidate | Developer or sponsor | Reference product | Phase | Design | Registry status | Started | Primary completion | In the Atlas | Registry record |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| AVT02 | Alvotech | Humira | Phase 3 | Comparative efficacy | Completed | Feb 2019 | Dec 2019 | Simlandi / Hukyndra / Libmyris | NCT03849404 |
| AVT02 | Alvotech | Humira | Phase 3 | Comparative efficacy | Completed | Jun 2020 | May 2021 | Simlandi / Hukyndra / Libmyris | NCT04453137 |
| AVT02 | Alvotech | Humira | Phase 1 | Comparative PK | Completed | Mar 2019 | Feb 2020 | Simlandi / Hukyndra / Libmyris | NCT03849313 |
| AVT02 | Alvotech | Humira | Phase 1 | Comparative PK | Completed | May 2018 | Aug 2018 | Simlandi / Hukyndra / Libmyris | NCT03579823 |
| ABP 501 | Amgen | Humira | Phase 3 | Switching | Completed | Oct 2021 | Dec 2022 | Amjevita / Amgevita | NCT05073315 |
| BCD-057 | Biocad | Humira | Phase 3 | Comparative efficacy | Completed | Dec 2016 | Dec 2017 | no approval in the seven markets | NCT02762955 |
| BCD-057 | Biocad | Humira | Phase 1 | Comparative PK | Completed | Jun 2015 | Oct 2015 | no approval in the seven markets | NCT02395055 |
| Hulio | Biocon Biologics | Humira | Phase 3 | Switching | Completed | Nov 2022 | Sep 2023 | Hulio | NCT05637515 |
| CinnoRA | CinnaGen | Humira | Phase 1 | Comparative PK | Completed | Oct 2016 | Aug 2017 | no approval in the seven markets | NCT03273192 |
| FKB327 | Fujifilm Kyowa Kirin Biologics | Humira | Phase 3 | Comparative efficacy | Completed | Jun 2015 | Jan 2018 | Hulio | NCT02405780 |
| Advixa | Incepta Pharmaceuticals | Humira | Phase 2/3 | Comparative efficacy | Unknown, last recruiting | Jun 2021 | Nov 2021 | no approval in the seven markets | NCT05172817 |
| DMB-3113 | Meiji Seika Pharma | Humira (brand not stated) | Phase 1 | Comparative PK | Completed | Aug 2016 | Jan 2017 | no approval in the seven markets | NCT02927353 |
| M923 | Momenta | Humira | Phase 3 | Comparative efficacy | Completed | Sep 2015 | Apr 2017 | no approval in the seven markets | NCT02581345 |
| Adalimumab Richmond | Richmond | Humira | Phase 1 | Comparative PK | Completed | Aug 2022 | Jan 2023 | no approval in the seven markets | NCT06291948 |
| SB5 | Samsung Bioepis | Humira | Phase 4 | Comparative PK | Completed | Aug 2022 | Apr 2023 | Hadlima / Imraldi | NCT05510063 |
| SB5 | Samsung Bioepis | Humira | Phase 3 | Comparative efficacy | Completed | May 2014 | Apr 2015 | Hadlima / Imraldi | NCT02167139 |
| GP2017 | Sandoz | Humira | Phase 3 | Comparative efficacy | Completed | Dec 2013 | Jul 2015 | Hyrimoz / Hefiya | NCT02016105 |
| HLX03 | Shanghai Henlius Biotech | Humira | Phase 1 | Comparative PK | Completed | Jan 2017 | Sep 2018 | no approval in the seven markets | NCT03357939 |
| TUR01 | Turgut | Humira | Phase 1 | Comparative PK | Completed | Jul 2019 | Jan 2020 | no approval in the seven markets | NCT04439929 |
| BMO-2 | Viatris | Humira | Phase 1 | Comparative PK | Completed | Dec 2014 | May 2015 | no approval in the seven markets | NCT02472912 |
| MYL-1401A | Viatris | Humira | Phase 3 | Comparative efficacy | Completed | Jun 2015 | May 2016 | Hulio | NCT02714322 |
Bevacizumab
Eight candidates with no approval yet, four of them past phase 3 (BCD-021, BP102, HD204, TAB008); nineteen products already approved in the seven markets.
| Candidate | Developer or sponsor | Reference product | Phase | Design | Registry status | Started | Primary completion | In the Atlas | Registry record |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| TAB008 | BioDlink | Avastin | Phase 3 | Comparative efficacy | Completed | Oct 2017 | Mar 2020 | no approval in the seven markets | NCT05427305 |
| BCD-021 | Biocad | Avastin | Phase 3 | Comparative efficacy | Completed | Oct 2012 | Nov 2014 | no approval in the seven markets | NCT01763645 |
| CT-P16 | Celltrion | Avastin | Phase 1 | Comparative PK | Completed | Aug 2017 | Dec 2017 | Vegzelma | NCT03247673 |
| BP102 | Hengrui | Avastin | Phase 3 | Comparative efficacy | Completed | Jan 2018 | Oct 2019 | no approval in the seven markets | NCT05169801 |
| IBI305 | Innovent | Avastin | Phase 1 | Comparative PK | Completed | Mar 2017 | Aug 2017 | no approval in the seven markets | NCT03083990 |
| PF-06439535 | Pfizer | Avastin | Phase 1 | Comparative PK | Completed | Jan 2014 | Aug 2014 | Zirabev | NCT02031991 |
| PF-06439535 | Pfizer | Avastin (as licensed reference) | Phase 1 | Comparative PK | Withdrawn | Jan 2021 | Jul 2021 | Zirabev | NCT04126044 |
| HD204 | Prestige Biopharma | Avastin | Phase 3 | Comparative efficacy | Active, not recruiting | Nov 2019 | Jul 2024 | no approval in the seven markets | NCT03390686 |
| SB8 | Samsung Bioepis | Avastin | Phase 1 | Comparative PK | Completed | Apr 2015 | Sep 2015 | Aybintio | NCT02453672 |
| SB8 | Samsung Bioepis | Avastin | Phase 3 | Comparative efficacy | Completed | Jul 2016 | Jan 2018 | Aybintio | NCT02754882 |
| SCT510 | Sinocelltech (hospital sponsor) | Avastin | Phase 1 | Comparative PK | Completed | May 2018 | Nov 2018 | no approval in the seven markets | NCT05113511 |
| RPH-001 | TRPharm | Avastin | Phase 1 | Comparative PK | Withdrawn | Dec 2017 | Jan 2018 | no approval in the seven markets | NCT03131700 |
| TRS003 | Teruisi | Avastin | Phase 1 | Comparative PK | Completed | Jun 2018 | Sep 2018 | no approval in the seven markets | NCT03882424 |
| MB02 | mAbxience | Avastin | Phase 1 | Comparative PK | Completed | Aug 2019 | Dec 2019 | Alymsys / Oyavas | NCT04238650 |
| MB02 | mAbxience | Avastin | Phase 1 | Comparative PK | Completed | Dec 2017 | May 2019 | Alymsys / Oyavas | NCT03293654 |
| MB02 | mAbxience | Avastin | Phase 3 | Comparative efficacy | Completed | Feb 2018 | Jul 2019 | Alymsys / Oyavas | NCT03296163 |
| MB02 | mAbxience | Avastin | Phase 1 | Comparative PK | Completed | Jan 2021 | Aug 2021 | Alymsys / Oyavas | NCT04408989 |
| BEVZ92 | mAbxience | Avastin | Phase 1 | Comparative PK | Completed | Oct 2014 | Oct 2015 | Alymsys / Oyavas | NCT02069704 |
| MB02 | mAbxience | Avastin | Phase 1 | Comparative PK | Completed | Sep 2019 | Mar 2020 | Alymsys / Oyavas | NCT04238663 |
Rituximab
Five candidates with no approval yet, four of them past phase 3 (HLX01, MabionCD20, RTXM83, SIBP-02); twelve products already approved in the seven markets.
| Candidate | Developer or sponsor | Reference product | Phase | Design | Registry status | Started | Primary completion | In the Atlas | Registry record |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| BCD-020 | Biocad | MabThera | Phase 3 | Comparative efficacy | Completed | Dec 2012 | Jul 2015 | Biocad rituximab | NCT01759030 |
| BCD-020 | Biocad | MabThera | Phase 3 | Comparative efficacy | Completed | Sep 2011 | Jan 2017 | Biocad rituximab | NCT01701232 |
| Ritumax | Biointegrator | MabThera | Phase 1 | Comparative PK | Terminated | Oct 2016 | Mar 2018 | no approval in the seven markets | NCT03061838 |
| CT-P10 | Celltrion | MabThera | Phase 1 | Comparative PK | Completed | Feb 2012 | Aug 2013 | Truxima / Blitzima | NCT01534884 |
| DRL_RI | Dr. Reddy's Laboratories | MabThera | Phase 3 | Comparative efficacy | Completed | Apr 2020 | Jan 2022 | Zimrixby / Ituxredi | NCT04268771 |
| DRL_RI | Dr. Reddy's Laboratories | MabThera | Phase 3 | Comparative efficacy | Completed | May 2019 | Sep 2022 | Zimrixby / Ituxredi | NCT03976102 |
| MabionCD20 | Mabion | MabThera | Phase 3 | Comparative efficacy | Withdrawn | Aug 2023 | Aug 2023 | no approval in the seven markets | NCT04680962 |
| GP2013 | Sandoz | MabThera | Phase 3 | Comparative efficacy | Completed | Dec 2011 | Jul 2015 | Rixathon / Riximyo | NCT01419665 |
| GP2013 | Sandoz | MabThera | Phase 3 | Comparative efficacy | Completed | Jul 2015 | Jul 2016 | Rixathon / Riximyo | NCT02514772 |
| HLX01 | Shanghai Henlius Biotech | MabThera (brand not stated) | Phase 3 | Comparative efficacy | Completed | Oct 2015 | May 2018 | no approval in the seven markets | NCT02787239 |
| SIBP-02 | Shanghai Institute of Biological Products | MabThera (brand not stated) | Phase 3 | Comparative efficacy | Completed | Jul 2019 | May 2022 | no approval in the seven markets | NCT04361279 |
| RTXM83 | mAbxience | MabThera | Phase 3 | Comparative efficacy | Completed | May 2013 | May 2016 | no approval in the seven markets | NCT02268045 |
Trastuzumab
Five candidates with no approval yet, two of them past phase 3 (AryoTrust, SIBP-01); thirteen products already approved in the seven markets.
| Candidate | Developer or sponsor | Reference product | Phase | Design | Registry status | Started | Primary completion | In the Atlas | Registry record |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| ALT02 | Alteogen | Herceptin | Phase 1 | Comparative PK | Completed | Feb 2016 | Aug 2016 | no approval in the seven markets | NCT03242239 |
| AryoTrust | AryoGen Pharmed | Herceptin | Phase 3 | Comparative efficacy | Completed | Jul 2016 | Mar 2018 | no approval in the seven markets | NCT03425656 |
| BCD-022 | Biocad | Herceptin | Phase 3 | Comparative efficacy | Completed | Oct 2012 | Mar 2015 | Biocad trastuzumab | NCT01764022 |
| CTTQ trastuzumab | Chia Tai Tianqing | Herceptin | Phase 1 | Comparative PK | Completed | Jul 2017 | Oct 2017 | no approval in the seven markets | NCT05765357 |
| Incepta trastuzumab | Incepta Pharmaceuticals | Herceptin (as licensed reference) | Phase 1 | Comparative PK | Completed | Jan 2024 | Dec 2024 | no approval in the seven markets | NCT06886659 |
| HD201 | Prestige Biopharma | Herceptin | Phase 3 | Comparative efficacy | Completed | Feb 2018 | Apr 2019 | Tuznue / Hervelous | NCT03013504 |
| SB3 | Samsung Bioepis | Herceptin | Phase 3 | Comparative efficacy | Completed | Apr 2014 | Mar 2016 | Ontruzant | NCT02149524 |
| HLX02 | Shanghai Henlius Biotech | Herceptin | Phase 3 | Comparative efficacy | Completed | Nov 2016 | Nov 2018 | Hercessi / Zercepac | NCT03084237 |
| SIBP-01 | Shanghai Institute of Biological Products | Herceptin | Phase 3 | Comparative efficacy | Completed | Jun 2019 | Apr 2023 | no approval in the seven markets | NCT03989037 |
Denosumab
Four candidates with no approval yet, three of them past phase 3 (Arylia, CMAB807, LY06006); seventeen products already approved in the seven markets.
| Candidate | Developer or sponsor | Reference product | Phase | Design | Registry status | Started | Primary completion | In the Atlas | Registry record |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| AVT03 | Alvotech | Prolia | Phase 3 | Comparative efficacy | Completed | Aug 2022 | May 2024 | Zvogra / Kefdensis / Xbonzy / Acvybra | NCT05395091 |
| AVT03 | Alvotech | Xgeva | Phase 1 | Comparative PK | Completed | Jul 2023 | Apr 2024 | Zvogra / Kefdensis / Xbonzy / Acvybra | NCT05876949 |
| AVT03 | Alvotech | Prolia | Phase 1 | Comparative PK | Completed | Jun 2022 | Oct 2023 | Zvogra / Kefdensis / Xbonzy / Acvybra | NCT05126784 |
| Arylia | AryoGen Pharmed | Prolia | Phase 3 | Comparative efficacy | Unknown, last active, not recruiting | Apr 2017 | Sep 2020 | no approval in the seven markets | NCT03293108 |
| CMAB807 | Biomabs | Prolia | Phase 3 | Comparative efficacy | Completed | Mar 2021 | Nov 2024 | no approval in the seven markets | NCT04591275 |
| ENZ215 | Enzene Biosciences | Prolia | Phase 1 | Comparative PK | Completed | Jan 2022 | May 2024 | Osqay / Enzene denosumab | NCT05245669 |
| ENZ215 | Enzene Biosciences | Prolia | Phase 3 | Comparative efficacy | Completed | Jul 2022 | Jul 2024 | Osqay / Enzene denosumab | NCT05405725 |
| FKS518 | Fresenius Kabi | Prolia | Phase 3 | Comparative efficacy | Completed | Jun 2021 | Aug 2023 | Conexxence / Bomyntra | NCT04934072 |
| RGB-14 | Gedeon Richter | Prolia | Phase 3 | Comparative efficacy | Completed | Sep 2021 | Oct 2023 | Enoby / Xtrenbo / Junod / Yaxwer | NCT05087030 |
| INTP23 | Intas Pharmaceuticals | Prolia | Phase 3 | Comparative efficacy | Unknown, last recruiting | Nov 2021 | Sep 2024 | Osvyrti / Jubereq | NCT05419427 |
| LY06006 | Luye | Prolia | Phase 3 | Comparative efficacy | Unknown, last active, not recruiting | Apr 2023 | Jul 2025 | no approval in the seven markets | NCT05853354 |
| LY06006 | Luye | Prolia | Phase 1 | Comparative PK | Completed | Mar 2021 | Mar 2023 | no approval in the seven markets | NCT06095427 |
| MW032 | Mabwell | Xgeva | Phase 1 | Comparative PK | Completed | Jun 2019 | Jan 2020 | no approval in the seven markets | NCT04798326 |
| SB16 | Samsung Bioepis | Prolia | Phase 3 | Comparative efficacy | Completed | Nov 2020 | Jun 2022 | Ospomyv / Xbryk / Obodence | NCT04664959 |
| SB16 | Samsung Bioepis | Prolia | Phase 1 | Comparative PK | Completed | Oct 2020 | Nov 2022 | Ospomyv / Xbryk / Obodence | NCT04621318 |
| GP2411 | Sandoz | Prolia | Phase 3 | Comparative efficacy | Completed | Jul 2019 | Apr 2022 | Jubbonti / Wyost | NCT03974100 |
| MB09 | mAbxience | Prolia | Phase 3 | Comparative efficacy | Completed | Mar 2022 | Dec 2023 | Boncresa / Oziltus / Denbrayce / Izamby | NCT05338086 |
| MB09 | mAbxience | Xgeva | Phase 1 | Comparative PK | Completed | Mar 2022 | Mar 2023 | Boncresa / Oziltus / Denbrayce / Izamby | NCT05299073 |
Pertuzumab
Four candidates with no approval yet, two of them past phase 3 (PERT-IJS, SYSA1901); four products already approved in the seven markets.
| Candidate | Developer or sponsor | Reference product | Phase | Design | Registry status | Started | Primary completion | In the Atlas | Registry record |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| BCD-178 | Biocad | Perjeta | Phase 1 | Comparative PK | Unknown, last active, not recruiting | Aug 2022 | Apr 2023 | no approval in the seven markets | NCT05738993 |
| PERT-IJS | Biocon Biologics | Perjeta | Phase 3 | Comparative efficacy | Terminated | Jan 2025 | Dec 2025 | no approval in the seven markets | NCT06038539 |
| SYSA1901 | CSPC | Perjeta | Phase 3 | Comparative efficacy | Unknown, last recruiting | Jan 2023 | Aug 2025 | no approval in the seven markets | NCT05720026 |
| EG1206A | EirGenix | Perjeta | Phase 1 | Comparative PK | Completed | May 2022 | Jan 2023 | no approval in the seven markets | NCT05471648 |
| HLX11 | Shanghai Henlius Biotech | Perjeta | Phase 3 | Comparative efficacy | Active, not recruiting | Apr 2022 | May 2024 | Poherdy | NCT05346224 |
Etanercept
Three candidates with no approval yet, two of them past phase 3 (CHS-0214, MB04); seven products already approved in the seven markets.
| Candidate | Developer or sponsor | Reference product | Phase | Design | Registry status | Started | Primary completion | In the Atlas | Registry record |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Altebrel | AryoGen Pharmed | Enbrel | Phase 1 | Comparative PK | Completed | Dec 2016 | Mar 2017 | no approval in the seven markets | NCT03273088 |
| CHS-0214 | Coherus BioSciences | Enbrel | Phase 3 | Comparative efficacy | Completed | May 2014 | Oct 2015 | no approval in the seven markets | NCT02115750 |
| SB4 | Samsung Bioepis | Enbrel | Phase 3 | Comparative efficacy | Completed | Jun 2013 | Apr 2014 | Eticovo / Benepali | NCT01895309 |
| GP2015 | Sandoz | Enbrel | Phase 3 | Comparative efficacy | Completed | Feb 2015 | Dec 2016 | Erelzi | NCT02638259 |
| GP2015 | Sandoz | Enbrel | Phase 3 | Comparative efficacy | Completed | Jun 2013 | Jun 2014 | Erelzi | NCT01891864 |
| MB04 | mAbxience | Enbrel | Phase 1 | Comparative PK | Completed | Mar 2024 | May 2025 | no approval in the seven markets | NCT06392074 |
| MB04 | mAbxience | Enbrel | Phase 3 | Comparative efficacy | Recruiting | Oct 2024 | Oct 2025 | no approval in the seven markets | NCT06596772 |
Ranibizumab
Three candidates with no approval yet, two of them past phase 3 (CKD-701, Incepta ranibizumab); fifteen products already approved in the seven markets.
| Candidate | Developer or sponsor | Reference product | Phase | Design | Registry status | Started | Primary completion | In the Atlas | Registry record |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| FYB201 | Bioeq | Lucentis | Phase 3 | Comparative efficacy | Completed | Dec 2015 | Dec 2017 | Cimerli / Ranivisio | NCT02611778 |
| CKD-701 | Chong Kun Dang | Lucentis | Phase 3 | Comparative efficacy | Completed | Oct 2018 | Mar 2021 | no approval in the seven markets | NCT04857177 |
| Incepta ranibizumab | Incepta Pharmaceuticals | Lucentis | Phase 3 | Comparative efficacy | Recruiting | Mar 2024 | Oct 2025 | no approval in the seven markets | NCT06305416 |
| LUBT010 | Lupin | Lucentis | Phase 3 | Comparative efficacy | Completed | Sep 2020 | May 2024 | Ranluspec / Vislyfa | NCT04690556 |
| PF582 | Pfenex | Lucentis | Phase 1/2 | Comparative PK | Completed | Nov 2013 | Jan 2016 | no approval in the seven markets | NCT02121353 |
| SB11 | Samsung Bioepis | Lucentis | Phase 3 | Comparative efficacy | Completed | Mar 2018 | May 2019 | Byooviz | NCT03150589 |
| Xlucane | Xbrane Biopharma | Lucentis | Phase 3 | Comparative efficacy | Completed | Apr 2019 | May 2021 | Ximluci | NCT03805100 |
Insulin human
Three candidates with no approval yet, none past the pharmacokinetic stage; ten products already approved in the seven markets.
| Candidate | Developer or sponsor | Reference product | Phase | Design | Registry status | Started | Primary completion | In the Atlas | Registry record |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Julphar Insulin R | Julphar | Humulin (as licensed reference) | Phase 1 | Comparative PK | Completed | Dec 2014 | Feb 2015 | no approval in the seven markets | NCT02634515 |
| Julphar Insulin 30/70 | Julphar | Humulin (as licensed reference) | Phase 1 | Comparative PK | Completed | Feb 2016 | Jun 2016 | no approval in the seven markets | NCT02631928 |
| Insulex R | Laboratorios Pisa | Humulin | Phase 1 | Comparative PK | Completed | Oct 2024 | Feb 2025 | no approval in the seven markets | NCT07364669 |
Omalizumab
Three candidates with no approval yet, none past the pharmacokinetic stage; three products already approved in the seven markets.
| Candidate | Developer or sponsor | Reference product | Phase | Design | Registry status | Started | Primary completion | In the Atlas | Registry record |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Generium omalizumab | Generium | Xolair | Phase 1 | Comparative PK | Completed | Apr 2017 | Sep 2017 | no approval in the seven markets | NCT04601389 |
| Genolair | Generium | Xolair | Phase 1 | Comparative PK | Completed | Jan 2023 | Jun 2024 | no approval in the seven markets | NCT06494345 |
| BP11 | Syneos Health (CRO sponsor) | Xolair | Phase 1 | Comparative PK | Completed | Feb 2022 | Jan 2024 | no approval in the seven markets | NCT05053334 |
Ustekinumab
Two candidates with no approval yet, one of them past phase 3 (GNR-068); thirteen products already approved in the seven markets.
| Candidate | Developer or sponsor | Reference product | Phase | Design | Registry status | Started | Primary completion | In the Atlas | Registry record |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| AVT04 | Alvotech | Stelara | Phase 3 | Comparative efficacy | Completed | Jun 2021 | Dec 2021 | Selarsdi / Uzpruvo / Usgena | NCT04930042 |
| AVT04 | Alvotech | Stelara | Phase 1 | Comparative PK | Completed | May 2021 | Mar 2022 | Selarsdi / Uzpruvo / Usgena | NCT04744363 |
| ABP 654 | Amgen | Stelara | Phase 3 | Switching | Completed | Mar 2021 | Feb 2023 | Wezlana / Wezenla | NCT04761627 |
| BFI-751 | BioFactura | Stelara | Phase 1 | Comparative PK | Completed | Apr 2021 | Dec 2021 | no approval in the seven markets | NCT04843631 |
| FYB202 | Bioeq | Stelara | Phase 3 | Comparative efficacy | Completed | Nov 2020 | Jun 2021 | Otulfi / Fymskina | NCT04595409 |
| GNR-068 | Generium | Stelara | Phase 3 | Comparative efficacy | Active, not recruiting | Jul 2023 | Apr 2025 | no approval in the seven markets | NCT06488664 |
| GNR-068 | Generium | Stelara | Phase 1 | Comparative PK | Completed | Mar 2022 | Sep 2022 | no approval in the seven markets | NCT06481215 |
| SB17 | Samsung Bioepis | Stelara | Phase 1 | Comparative PK | Completed | Feb 2021 | Apr 2022 | Pyzchiva | NCT04772274 |
| SB17 | Samsung Bioepis | Stelara | Phase 3 | Comparative efficacy | Completed | Jul 2021 | Feb 2022 | Pyzchiva | NCT04967508 |
Aflibercept
Two candidates with no approval yet, two of them past phase 3 (AVT29, QL1207); thirteen products already approved in the seven markets.
| Candidate | Developer or sponsor | Reference product | Phase | Design | Registry status | Started | Primary completion | In the Atlas | Registry record |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| AVT29 | Alvotech | Eylea | Phase 3 | Comparative efficacy | Recruiting | Apr 2026 | Jul 2027 | no approval in the seven markets | NCT07489131 |
| AVT06 | Alvotech | Eylea | Phase 3 | Comparative efficacy | Completed | Jun 2022 | Nov 2023 | Afiveg / Mynzepli | NCT05155293 |
| FYB203 | Bioeq | Eylea | Phase 3 | Comparative efficacy | Completed | Jul 2020 | Jun 2022 | Ahzantive / Baiama | NCT04522167 |
| QL1207 | Qilu Pharmaceutical | Eylea | Phase 3 | Comparative efficacy | Completed | Aug 2019 | Jan 2022 | no approval in the seven markets | NCT05345236 |
| SCD411 | Sam Chun Dang Pharm | Eylea | Phase 3 | Comparative efficacy | Completed | Aug 2020 | Sep 2022 | Eiyzey / Vgenfli | NCT04480463 |
| SB15 | Samsung Bioepis | Eylea | Phase 3 | Comparative efficacy | Completed | Jun 2020 | Apr 2021 | Opuviz | NCT04450329 |
Epoetin alfa and zeta
Two candidates with no approval yet, two of them past phase 3 (EPIAO, UB-851); ten products already approved in the seven markets.
| Candidate | Developer or sponsor | Reference product | Phase | Design | Registry status | Started | Primary completion | In the Atlas | Registry record |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| EPIAO | 3SBio | Eprex | Phase 4 | Comparative | Terminated | Aug 2015 | Jun 2019 | no approval in the seven markets | NCT02522975 |
| EPIAO | 3SBio | Eprex | Phase 3 | Comparative efficacy | Completed | Dec 2015 | Oct 2021 | no approval in the seven markets | NCT02947438 |
| UB-851 | UBI Pharma | Eprex | Phase 3 | Comparative efficacy | Completed | Mar 2016 | Oct 2021 | no approval in the seven markets | NCT02708914 |
Abatacept
Two candidates with no approval yet, none past the pharmacokinetic stage; zero products already approved in the seven markets.
| Candidate | Developer or sponsor | Reference product | Phase | Design | Registry status | Started | Primary completion | In the Atlas | Registry record |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| DRL_AB | Dr. Reddy's Laboratories | Orencia | Phase 1 | Comparative PK | Unknown, last recruiting | Oct 2023 | Apr 2024 | no approval in the seven markets | NCT06126042 |
| M834 | Momenta | Orencia | Phase 1 | Comparative PK | Completed | Oct 2016 | Jul 2017 | no approval in the seven markets | NCT02923583 |
Insulin lispro
Two candidates with no approval yet, two of them past phase 3 (Gan & Lee insulin lispro, Wockhardt insulin lispro); four products already approved in the seven markets.
| Candidate | Developer or sponsor | Reference product | Phase | Design | Registry status | Started | Primary completion | In the Atlas | Registry record |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Gan & Lee insulin lispro | Gan & Lee Pharmaceuticals | Humalog | Phase 3 | Comparative efficacy | Withdrawn | Dec 2019 | Jan 2020 | no approval in the seven markets | NCT04254380 |
| Wockhardt insulin lispro | Wockhardt | Humalog | Phase 3 | Comparative efficacy | Withdrawn | Feb 2012 | Mar 2013 | no approval in the seven markets | NCT01398670 |
Vedolizumab
Two candidates with no approval yet, two of them past phase 3 (AVT16, PB016); zero products already approved in the seven markets.
| Candidate | Developer or sponsor | Reference product | Phase | Design | Registry status | Started | Primary completion | In the Atlas | Registry record |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| AVT16 | Alvotech | Entyvio | Phase 3 | Comparative efficacy | Terminated | Sep 2024 | Nov 2025 | no approval in the seven markets | NCT06570772 |
| PB016 | Polpharma Biologics | Entyvio | Phase 3 | Comparative efficacy | Unknown, last active, not recruiting | Jul 2023 | Sep 2025 | no approval in the seven markets | NCT05771155 |
Pegfilgrastim
One candidate with no approval yet, one of them past phase 3 (Eurofarma pegfilgrastim); eighteen products already approved in the seven markets.
| Candidate | Developer or sponsor | Reference product | Phase | Design | Registry status | Started | Primary completion | In the Atlas | Registry record |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| B12019 | Cinfa Biotech | Neulasta | Phase 1 | Comparative PK | Completed | Nov 2015 | Jul 2016 | Pelmeg / Cegfila | NCT02629562 |
| B12019 | Cinfa Biotech | Neulasta | Phase 1 | Comparative PK | Completed | Sep 2016 | May 2017 | Pelmeg / Cegfila | NCT02912377 |
| Eurofarma pegfilgrastim | Eurofarma | Neulastim | Phase 3 | Comparative efficacy | Withdrawn | Jan 2018 | Oct 2019 | no approval in the seven markets | NCT02768714 |
| INTP5 | Intas Pharmaceuticals | Neulasta | Phase 1 | Comparative PK | Completed | Feb 2018 | May 2018 | Pelgraz / Ennumo | NCT04014062 |
| INTP5 | Intas Pharmaceuticals | Neulasta | Phase 1 | Comparative PK | Completed | Feb 2018 | Jun 2018 | Pelgraz / Ennumo | NCT04015232 |
| PF-06881894 | Pfizer | Neulasta | Phase 1 | Comparative PK | Completed | Oct 2017 | Jul 2018 | Nyvepria | NCT03273842 |
| QL0605 | Qilu Pharmaceutical | Neulasta | Phase 1 | Comparative PK | Unknown, last recruiting | Nov 2020 | Nov 2021 | Nylaspeg | NCT04651036 |
| LA-EP2006 | Sandoz | Neulasta | Phase 3 | Comparative efficacy | Completed | Jun 2012 | May 2013 | Ziextenzo | NCT01735175 |
Infliximab
One candidate with no approval yet, one of them past phase 3 (CMAB008); seven products already approved in the seven markets.
| Candidate | Developer or sponsor | Reference product | Phase | Design | Registry status | Started | Primary completion | In the Atlas | Registry record |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| BCD-055 | Biocad | Remicade | Phase 3 | Comparative efficacy | Completed | Jan 2016 | May 2017 | Biocad infliximab | NCT02762812 |
| BCD-055 | Biocad | Remicade | Phase 3 | Comparative efficacy | Completed | Jan 2016 | Jul 2018 | Biocad infliximab | NCT02762838 |
| CMAB008 | Biomabs | Remicade | Phase 3 | Comparative efficacy | Completed | Mar 2018 | Jun 2019 | no approval in the seven markets | NCT03478111 |
| SB2 | Samsung Bioepis | Remicade | Phase 3 | Comparative efficacy | Completed | Aug 2013 | Sep 2014 | Renflexis / Flixabi | NCT01936181 |
Eculizumab
One candidate with no approval yet, none past the pharmacokinetic stage; two products already approved in the seven markets.
| Candidate | Developer or sponsor | Reference product | Phase | Design | Registry status | Started | Primary completion | In the Atlas | Registry record |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| SB12 | Samsung Bioepis | Soliris | Phase 3 | Comparative efficacy | Completed | Aug 2019 | Sep 2021 | Epysqli | NCT04058158 |
| SB12 | Samsung Bioepis | Soliris | Phase 1 | Comparative PK | Completed | Nov 2018 | Mar 2019 | Epysqli | NCT03722329 |
| TUR03 | Turgut | Soliris | Phase 1 | Comparative PK | Unknown, last recruiting | Apr 2023 | Jul 2024 | no approval in the seven markets | NCT05863442 |
Tocilizumab
One candidate with no approval yet, one of them past phase 3 (Complarate); six products already approved in the seven markets.
| Candidate | Developer or sponsor | Reference product | Phase | Design | Registry status | Started | Primary completion | In the Atlas | Registry record |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Complarate | Generium | Actemra | Phase 1 | Comparative PK | Completed | Apr 2022 | Jun 2022 | no approval in the seven markets | NCT06481202 |
| Complarate | Generium | Actemra | Phase 3 | Comparative efficacy | Completed | Feb 2023 | Jan 2024 | no approval in the seven markets | NCT06475508 |
| Complarate | Generium | Actemra | Phase 1 | Comparative PK | Active, not recruiting | Jun 2024 | Apr 2025 | no approval in the seven markets | NCT06488521 |
Filgrastim
One candidate with no approval yet, none past the pharmacokinetic stage; twelve products already approved in the seven markets.
| Candidate | Developer or sponsor | Reference product | Phase | Design | Registry status | Started | Primary completion | In the Atlas | Registry record |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Leucostim | Biocad | Neupogen | Phase 1 | Comparative PK | Completed | Jul 2016 | Nov 2016 | no approval in the seven markets | NCT02762799 |
| Filgrastim Hospira | Pfizer | Neupogen | Phase 1 | Comparative PK | Completed | Oct 2016 | Jan 2017 | Nivestym / Nivestim | NCT02923791 |
Insulin aspart
One candidate with no approval yet, one of them past phase 3 (I004); five products already approved in the seven markets.
| Candidate | Developer or sponsor | Reference product | Phase | Design | Registry status | Started | Primary completion | In the Atlas | Registry record |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| I004 | Amphastar | NovoLog | Phase 2/3 | Switching | Completed | Apr 2026 | Jun 2026 | no approval in the seven markets | NCT07560150 |
| I004 | Amphastar | NovoLog | Phase 2/3 | Comparative efficacy | Completed | Aug 2022 | Jan 2023 | no approval in the seven markets | NCT05539872 |
Darbepoetin alfa
One candidate with no approval yet, none past the pharmacokinetic stage; six products already approved in the seven markets.
| Candidate | Developer or sponsor | Reference product | Phase | Design | Registry status | Started | Primary completion | In the Atlas | Registry record |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Stimus | Nanogen | Aranesp | Phase 1 | Comparative PK | Completed | Sep 2021 | Nov 2022 | no approval in the seven markets | NCT05636891 |
Follitropin alfa
One candidate with no approval yet, one of them past phase 3 (QL1012); five products already approved in the seven markets.
| Candidate | Developer or sponsor | Reference product | Phase | Design | Registry status | Started | Primary completion | In the Atlas | Registry record |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| QL1012 | Qilu Pharmaceutical | Gonal-f | Phase 3 | Comparative efficacy | Completed | Oct 2018 | Oct 2019 | no approval in the seven markets | NCT05149924 |
Insulin glargine
One candidate with no approval yet, none past the pharmacokinetic stage; twelve products already approved in the seven markets.
| Candidate | Developer or sponsor | Reference product | Phase | Design | Registry status | Started | Primary completion | In the Atlas | Registry record |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Sansulin Log-G | Universitas Indonesia | Lantus | Phase 2 | Comparative efficacy | Unknown, last not yet recruiting | Oct 2020 | Aug 2021 | no approval in the seven markets | NCT04591457 |
Golimumab
All one candidate in these trials already has an approval somewhere in the seven markets.
| Candidate | Developer or sponsor | Reference product | Phase | Design | Registry status | Started | Primary completion | In the Atlas | Registry record |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| AVT05 | Alvotech | Simponi | Phase 1 | Comparative PK | Completed | Dec 2022 | Oct 2023 | Gobivaz / Gotenfia | NCT05632211 |
| AVT05 | Alvotech | Simponi | Phase 3 | Comparative efficacy | Completed | Mar 2023 | Mar 2024 | Gobivaz / Gotenfia | NCT05842213 |
Natalizumab
All one candidate in these trials already has an approval somewhere in the seven markets.
| Candidate | Developer or sponsor | Reference product | Phase | Design | Registry status | Started | Primary completion | In the Atlas | Registry record |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| PB006 | Polpharma Biologics | Tysabri | Phase 3 | Comparative efficacy | Completed | Oct 2019 | Aug 2021 | Tyruko | NCT04115488 |
Registry data from ClinicalTrials.gov, entered by the sponsors and not verified by any regulator. Status and dates are as posted; sponsors often update them late. Trials registered only on other registries, such as India's CTRI or China's ChiCTR, are not included. Checked 12 Sep 2026.
Sources
S024ClinicalTrials.gov, study records (API v2, one query per molecule with the term biosimilar) Registry (sponsor-entered)
Evaluating a biosimilar opportunity?
EvySaif can help assess your regulatory pathway, clinical evidence requirements and market-entry strategy across India, UAE and other target markets.
Talk to a biosimilar regulatory consultant