Home/Biosimilar Atlas/Insulin human

Insulin human biosimilars

Ordinary manufactured human insulin in its fast, intermediate and premixed forms, the backbone of insulin supply in India, and classed as a biosimilar only in Canada.

Reference product Humulin (Lilly); Actrapid, Insulatard and Mixtard (Novo Nordisk); Insuman (Sanofi) (Eli Lilly; Novo Nordisk; Sanofi) · Hormone · Target Insulin receptor · ATC A10AB01 (soluble), A10AC01 (isophane), A10AD01 (biphasic) · Diabetes
FDAproducts approved0
EMAproducts authorised, 2 withdrawn0
MHRAproducts licensed in the UK0
PMDAproducts approved in Japan0
HCproducts approved in Canada1
CDSCOpermissions9
EDEregistered in the UAE0

About insulin human

What it is

Human insulin is insulin made by bacteria or yeast to exactly match the natural hormone. It comes in a fast-acting form, a slower form mixed with a protein called protamine, and premixes of the two. It was the first medicine ever made by genetic engineering.

How it works

It replaces the insulin the body cannot make, moving sugar from the blood into muscle and fat. The three forms differ only in how quickly they are absorbed.

How it is given

Injections under the skin, once to several times a day depending on the form, from vials, cartridges or pens. India still licenses a 40 units per mL strength alongside the international 100 units per mL.

What it treats

Type 1 and type 2 diabetes, and diabetic emergencies where the fast form is given into a vein.

How a biosimilar is compared

Where human insulin is assessed as a biosimilar, the comparison uses laboratory data and clamp studies in volunteers plus a safety study in patients. In Europe the two applications assessed that way were refused or withdrawn, and no human insulin biosimilar has been approved there.

The reference product

The reference products are Humulin from Eli Lilly, Actrapid, Insulatard and Mixtard from Novo Nordisk, and Insuman from Sanofi.

Why it matters for biosimilar developers

Human insulin is the largest-volume biologic in India and one of the cheapest, so it is where new Indian manufacturers enter and where public procurement sets the price. Outside India and China it has almost no biosimilar market: Europe refused or saw withdrawn every application, the United States never received one, and Canada's single biosimilar is a ready-to-use intravenous bag.

Clinical details are summarised from the reference product's prescribing information. Approval dates, numbers and presentations are in the tables below, each with its source.

Competitive outlook

Current market intelligenceRef: ClinicalTrials.gov
3
In pharmacokinetic trials
Insulex R, Julphar Insulin 30/70, Julphar Insulin R
0
In efficacy trials
none found
0
Under regulatory review
none listed
10
Approved somewhere in the seven markets
  • Todayten insulin human biosimilars are approved in at least one of the seven markets.
  • Further outInsulex R, Julphar Insulin 30/70, Julphar Insulin R are still at the pharmacokinetic stage, usually two to three years from any approval.
  • If all of them arriveThe approved count would rise from ten to thirteen.

No published switching study for this molecule yet.

Approvals by year

2011201220132014201520162017201820192020202120222023202420252026FDAEMAMHRAPMDAHCMyxredlin (2022)CDSCOGland Pharma (INN only) (2011)Shantha Biotechnics (INN only) (2013)Biocon (INN only), MJ Biopharm (INN only) (2018)Biocon (INN only), MJ Biopharm (INN only) (2018)Epygen Biotech Private (INN only) (2021)Lupin (INN only), Cadila Pharmaceuticals (INN only) (2024)Lupin (INN only), Cadila Pharmaceuticals (INN only) (2024)Eris Lifesciences (INN only) (2025)Regenix Drugs (INN only) (2026)EDE
FDAnonenot listed
EMAnonenot listed
MHRAnonenot listed
PMDAnonenot listed
HCAug 2022Myxredlin
CDSCOAug 2011Gland Pharma (INN only)
EDEnonenot listed

Regulatory register

RegulatorBrandHolder or applicantApprovedApplication or permissionUS licenceStatusSource
EMAInpremziaBaxter Holding B.V.Apr 2022EMEA/H/C/005331WithdrawnS017
EMASolumarvMarvel Lifesciences Ltdnot publishedEMEA/H/C/003858WithdrawnS017
HCMyxredlinBaxter CorporationAug 2022DIN 02529602ApprovedS022
CDSCOGland Pharma (INN only)Gland Pharma LtdAug 2011MF-334/2011ApprovedS014
CDSCOShantha Biotechnics (INN only)Shantha Biotechnics LimitedNov 2013MF-243/2013ApprovedS014
CDSCOBiocon (INN only)Biocon LimitedFeb 2018Import permissionApprovedS013
CDSCOMJ Biopharm (INN only)MJ Biopharm Pvt LtdJun 2018MF/BIO/18/000001ApprovedS014
CDSCOEpygen Biotech Private (INN only)Epygen Biotech Private LimitedMay 2021MF/BIO/21/000046ApprovedS011
CDSCOLupin (INN only)Lupin LimitedJan 2024IMP/BIO/24/000008 (isophane)ApprovedS012
CDSCOCadila Pharmaceuticals (INN only)Cadila Pharmaceuticals LimitedNov 2024MF/BIO/24/000126ApprovedS011
CDSCOEris Lifesciences (INN only)Eris Lifesciences Limited; Eris Bionxt Private LimitedDec 2025MF/BIO/25/000164 to MF/BIO/25/000182 (December 2025)ApprovedS011
CDSCORegenix Drugs (INN only)Regenix Drugs LtdApr 2026MF/BIO/26/000050 (biphasic)ApprovedS011

Last checked Sep 2026. US interchangeability designations are listed in full on the interchangeable biosimilars page. CDSCO lists permissions by firm and INN, not brand. PMDA's list and the UAE directory do not publish application numbers; Canadian dates are the first approval or market date recorded in the Drug Product Database.

Regulatory pathway by market

Requirements for an insulin human biosimilar under the guidance in force in September 2026.

FDA, United StatesEMA, European UnionMHRA, United KingdomPMDA, JapanHealth CanadaCDSCO, IndiaEDE, UAE
Legal pathwaySection 351(k), open to insulins since 23 March 2020; no human insulin has been approved under it (Myxredlin, 2019, reached the US through the 505(b)(2) route before the transition)Article 10(4) of Directive 2001/83/EC; centralised procedure is mandatory for biotechnology productsUK marketing authorisation from MHRA. EU approvals in force at the end of 2020 became Great Britain licences automatically; new products since 2021 are approved through reliance on EMA or FDA decisions, and from 2024 through the International Recognition Procedure. Northern Ireland follows EU licencesMHLW approval on PMDA review under the Guideline for Ensuring Quality, Safety and Efficacy of Biosimilars (2009, revised 2020), with Q&A updates in 2024 and 2026Notice of Compliance under the Food and Drug Regulations as a biosimilar biologic drug, assessed under Health Canada's guidance on biosimilars (2016, revised 2022 and 2026)Guidelines on Similar Biologics (CDSCO and DBT, 2016, in force); revised draft published May 2025Registration through the Emirates Drug Establishment; the public directory does not distinguish biosimilars from other biologicals
Reference productUS-licensed reference; a non-US comparator may be used with analytical and PK bridgingEU-authorised reference; a non-EEA comparator may be used with bridging dataReference biologic authorised in the UK, or an EU-authorised version with bridging dataThe original biopharmaceutical approved in Japan; foreign-sourced reference accepted with bridging since the 2020 revisionReference biologic drug authorised in Canada, or a non-Canadian version of it with bridging dataProduct licensed in India, or if not, one licensed in an ICH country, with justificationNot stated in the public directory; registration relies on assessment by reference regulators
Comparative clinical studyDraft guidance (October 2025): comparative analytical assessment plus a PK similarity study and immunogenicity assessment; a comparative efficacy study is generally not neededReflection paper adopted March 2026: a comparative efficacy trial can be waived when analytical and PK comparability is sufficientFollows the EU guideline; MHRA's 2021 biosimilar guidance states that a comparative efficacy trial is generally not needed where analytical and pharmacokinetic comparability is shownComparative PK study and, in principle, a comparative efficacy study; the May 2026 early consideration sets out when the efficacy study can be omitted, and Japanese patient data are no longer required in every case (2025)Comparative structural and functional studies, PK and, where warranted, PD equivalence; the 2026 revision reduces the expectation of comparative efficacy trials in line with FDA and EMAComparative PK/PD study and a comparative safety and efficacy study are generally expected, followed by a post-marketing studyAssessed on the dossier accepted by the reference regulator
InterchangeabilityA separate designation permitting pharmacy-level substitution; switching studies generally not required under the June 2024 draftEMA and HMA statement (September 2022): EU biosimilars are interchangeable with their reference; substitution rules are set by each member stateNo designation; MHRA considers approved biosimilars interchangeable with their reference, and switching is decided by the prescriber and by NHS commissioningNot defined; prescribing by brand, with pharmacist substitution not automaticNo federal designation; substitution and mandatory switching policies are set by each province, several of which have required switching since 2019Not defined in the guidelinesNot defined
NamingINN plus a four-letter suffixINN, identical to the reference; brand name and batch recorded for pharmacovigilanceBrand name with the non-proprietary name; licence numbers PL, PLGB or PLNIINN followed by BS (biosimilar), strength, form and the company name in quotation marks, with a biosimilar number in the non-proprietary nameNon-proprietary name identical to the reference, with brand name and DIN as identifiersINN with the brand nameBrand name as registered

Sources: FDA draft guidance on comparative efficacy studies (October 2025) and interchangeability (June 2024); EMA reflection paper EMA/CHMP/BMWP/60916/2025 (March 2026) and EMA/HMA statement on interchangeability (September 2022); CDSCO Guidelines on Similar Biologics 2016 and 2025 draft (S009, S010); EDE directory (S018); MHLW/PMDA biosimilar guideline and notifications (S021); Health Canada guidance on biosimilar biologic drugs; MHRA guidance on the licensing of biosimilar products (2021).

EvySaif prepares the comparative evidence plan and the regional dossier strategy for insulin human programmes. Regulatory strategy consulting

Presentations and concentration

100 IU/mL is the international standard in vials, cartridges and pens; India also licenses 40 IU/mL vials. Biphasic presentations are 30/70 soluble to isophane, with 50/50 for some originators.

ProductFDAEMAMHRAPMDAHCCDSCOEDE
Gland Pharma human insulin·····
Biphasic isophane 30/70
·
Shantha human insulin·····
Soluble (rapid) insulin
·
M.J. Biopharm human insulin·····
Biphasic 30/70
·
Biocon human insulin·····
100 IU/mL, 3 mL cartridges
·
Epygen human insulin·····
Biphasic isophane 30/70
·
Lupin human insulin·····
Isophane, biphasic 30/70 and soluble presentations
·
Cadila Pharmaceuticals human insulin·····
Biphasic isophane 30/70
·
Eris human insulin·····
Soluble, isophane and biphasic 30/70; 100 IU/mL vials and cartridges
·
Regenix human insulin·····
Biphasic 30/70 and soluble insulin
·
Myxredlin····
1 unit/mL intravenous infusion bag
··
Solumarv·see SmPC·····
Inpremzia·see SmPC·····

EU presentations are listed in each product's SmPC.

Developers by market

Entering a market where a competitor is already listed changes the evidence and pricing conversation. EvySaif's global value dossier and HTA submission work covers that side.

Products

Gland Pharma human insulin

code not published · Gland Pharma
Brand not published by CDSCO (India)
CDSCO Aug 2011
Approved in 1 of 7 markets

Shantha human insulin

code not published · Shantha Biotechnics (Sanofi)
Brand not published by CDSCO (India)
CDSCO Nov 2013
Approved in 1 of 7 markets

M.J. Biopharm human insulin

code not published · M.J. Biopharm
Brand not published by CDSCO (India)
CDSCO Jun 2018
Approved in 1 of 7 markets

Biocon human insulin

code not published · Biocon Biologics
Brand not published by CDSCO (India, import)
CDSCO Feb 2018
Approved in 1 of 7 markets

Epygen human insulin

code not published · Epygen Biotech
Brand not published by CDSCO (India)
CDSCO May 2021
Approved in 1 of 7 markets

Lupin human insulin

code not published · Not stated in the CDSCO list
Brand not published by CDSCO (India, import)
CDSCO Jan 2024
Approved in 1 of 7 markets

Cadila Pharmaceuticals human insulin

code not published · Cadila Pharmaceuticals
Brand not published by CDSCO (India)
CDSCO Nov 2024
Approved in 1 of 7 markets

Eris human insulin

code not published · Eris Lifesciences
Brand not published by CDSCO (India)
CDSCO Dec 2025
Approved in 1 of 7 markets

Regenix human insulin

code not published · Regenix Drugs
Brand not published by CDSCO (India)
CDSCO Apr 2026
Approved in 1 of 7 markets

Myxredlin

code not published · Baxter
Myxredlin (Canada)
HC Aug 2022
Approved in 1 of 7 markets

Solumarv

code not published · Marvel Lifesciences
Solumarv (EU, refused)
EMA withdrawn
No approval yet in the seven markets

Inpremzia

code not published · Baxter
Inpremzia (EU, withdrawn)
EMA withdrawn
No approval yet in the seven markets

In development

ClinicalTrials.gov holds three comparative trials of three insulin human biosimilar candidates against the reference product, run by two sponsors. None of the candidates (Insulex R, Julphar Insulin 30/70, Julphar Insulin R) has an approval yet in any of the seven markets. Trials are listed with the sponsor's own wording for status and dates.

CandidateDeveloper or sponsorReference productPhaseDesignRegistry statusStartedPrimary completionIn the AtlasRegistry record
Julphar Insulin RJulpharHumulin (as licensed reference)Phase 1Comparative PKCompletedDec 2014Feb 2015no approval in the seven marketsNCT02634515
Julphar Insulin 30/70JulpharHumulin (as licensed reference)Phase 1Comparative PKCompletedFeb 2016Jun 2016no approval in the seven marketsNCT02631928
Insulex RLaboratorios PisaHumulinPhase 1Comparative PKCompletedOct 2024Feb 2025no approval in the seven marketsNCT07364669

Registry data from ClinicalTrials.gov, entered by the sponsors and not verified by any regulator. Status and dates are as posted; sponsors often update them late. Trials registered only on other registries, such as India's CTRI or China's ChiCTR, are not included. Checked 12 Sep 2026. The full list across all molecules is on the pipeline page.

Questions

Is there a human insulin biosimilar in the United States or Europe?

No. In the United States none has been approved under the biosimilar pathway. In Europe one application was refused and two were withdrawn.

Is human insulin made in India?

Yes, widely. Wockhardt and Biocon launched products in the early 2000s, and Gland, Shantha, M.J. Biopharm, Epygen, Cadila, Eris and Regenix have since received manufacturing permissions, with Biocon and Lupin importing.

Which human insulin biosimilars are registered in the UAE?

None. The originator brands are registered.

Why does Canada call Myxredlin a biosimilar?

Health Canada assessed Baxter's ready-to-use intravenous insulin against a reference product under its biosimilar framework. The same product in the United States was approved as a drug.

Why does India still license 40 units per mL insulin?

It was the standard in India for decades and matching syringes remain in use, so both strengths are permitted.

How is a human insulin biosimilar tested?

Laboratory comparison, clamp studies in volunteers for each form, and a safety study in patients.

Work with EvySaif on insulin human

Insulin human biosimilar landscape report

The register on this page as a delivered document: every approval, holder, presentation and pathway requirement across FDA, EMA, CDSCO and the Gulf, updated to the month, with the sources attached.

Request the landscape report

Regulatory gap assessment

For a developer deciding whether and where to file: a review of your analytical, PK and clinical package against what each regulator expects for insulin human, with the gaps ranked and a filing sequence recommended.

About the gap assessment

Sources

Planning insulin human biosimilar development?

EvySaif can help assess your regulatory pathway, clinical evidence requirements and market-entry strategy across India, UAE and other target markets.

Talk to a biosimilar regulatory consultant
Data current to September 2026.