Bevacizumab biosimilars

An antibody that starves tumours of blood supply, used in bowel, lung, kidney, ovarian and cervical cancers, with Indian biosimilars since 2016.

Reference product Avastin (Roche) · Monoclonal antibody · Target VEGF-A · ATC L01FG01 · Oncology
FDAproducts approved6
EMAproducts authorised, 3 withdrawn, 2 under review7
MHRAproducts licensed in the UK8
PMDAproducts approved in Japan4
HCproducts approved in Canada6
CDSCOpermissions8
EDEregistered in the UAE3

About bevacizumab

What it is

Bevacizumab is an antibody that blocks a growth factor called VEGF, which tumours use to grow new blood vessels. Cutting off that signal slows the tumour's blood supply. It is given alongside chemotherapy in several common cancers.

How it works

It works by binding VEGF in the blood before the growth factor can reach the cells lining blood vessels. Unlike some cancer antibodies it does not attach to the tumour cells themselves, which makes it simpler to copy.

How it is given

It is an infusion into a vein every two or three weeks, from vials of liquid concentrate in two sizes.

What it treats

Bowel cancer, non-small cell lung cancer, kidney cancer, ovarian cancer, cervical cancer and, in some markets, brain tumours and liver cancer. Each product's licensed uses are in the tables below.

How a biosimilar is compared

Because bevacizumab acts on a protein in the blood rather than on cells, regulators have accepted a single clinical comparison in lung cancer and extended the approval to all the other cancers. Immune reactions are very rare.

The reference product

The reference product is Avastin, from Roche. Biosimilars reached Europe and the United States from 2017, though US launches waited until 2019 under a settlement.

Why it matters for biosimilar developers

Bevacizumab is one of the most widely used cancer antibodies by volume, and one of the easiest to copy because its action does not depend on the antibody's tail. India was first, with Reliance in 2016, and now has seven domestic makers. Several of those Indian products have since been approved in Europe, Japan, Canada and the Gulf.

Clinical details are summarised from the reference product's prescribing information. Approval dates, numbers and presentations are in the tables below, each with its source.

Competitive outlook

Current market intelligenceRef: ClinicalTrials.gov
4
In pharmacokinetic trials
IBI305, RPH-001, SCT510, TRS003
4
In efficacy trials
BCD-021, BP102, HD204, TAB008
19
Approved somewhere in the seven markets
  • Today19 bevacizumab biosimilars are approved in at least one of the seven markets.
  • With regulators nowEU application 005995, EU application 006944 are under review. A decision usually comes within a year.
  • Nearest to marketBCD-021, BP102, HD204, TAB008 have reached phase 3, the last trial before a filing.
  • Further outIBI305, RPH-001, SCT510, TRS003 are still at the pharmacokinetic stage, usually two to three years from any approval.
  • If all of them arriveThe approved count would rise from 19 to 29. The applications under review are anonymous in the EMA list and are probably some of the same candidates, so 27 is the more realistic figure.

No published switching study for this molecule yet.

Approvals by year

20132014201520162017201820192020202120222023202420252026FDAMvasi (2017)Zirabev (2019)Alymsys, Vegzelma (2022)Alymsys, Vegzelma (2022)Avzivi (2023)Jobevne (2025)EMAMvasi (2018)Zirabev (2019)Aybintio (2020)Alymsys, Oyavas, Abevmy (2021)Alymsys, Oyavas, Abevmy (2021)Alymsys, Oyavas, Abevmy (2021)Vegzelma (2022)Avzivi (2024)MHRAPMDABevacizumab BS [Pfizer], Bevacizumab BS Amgen (2019)Bevacizumab BS [Pfizer], Bevacizumab BS Amgen (2019)Bevacizumab BS Nichi-Iko, Bevacizumab BS CTNK (2022)Bevacizumab BS Nichi-Iko, Bevacizumab BS CTNK (2022)HCMvasi (2018)Zirabev (2019)Bambevi, Abevmy, Aybintio (2021)Bambevi, Abevmy, Aybintio (2021)Bambevi, Abevmy, Aybintio (2021)Vegzelma (2023)CDSCOReliance Life Sciences (INN only), Hetero Drugs (INN only), Intas Pharmaceuticals (INN only) (2016)Reliance Life Sciences (INN only), Hetero Drugs (INN only), Intas Pharmaceuticals (INN only) (2016)Reliance Life Sciences (INN only), Hetero Drugs (INN only), Intas Pharmaceuticals (INN only) (2016)Krabeva, Cadila Healthcare (INN only) (2017)Krabeva, Cadila Healthcare (INN only) (2017)Dr. Reddy's Laboratories (INN only) (2018)Enzene Biosciences (INN only) (2023)CuraTeQ Biologics Private (INN only) (2026)EDEMvasi, Zirabev (2020)Mvasi, Zirabev (2020)Abevmy (2022)
FDASep 2017Mvasi
EMAJan 2018Mvasi
MHRAnonenot listed
PMDAJun 2019Bevacizumab BS [Pfizer]
HCApr 2018Mvasi
CDSCOJan 2016Reliance Life Sciences (INN only)
EDEApr 2020Mvasi

Regulatory register

RegulatorBrandHolder or applicantApprovedApplication or permissionUS licenceStatusSource
FDAMvasiAmgen Inc.Sep 2017761028BiosimilarApprovedS001, S016
FDAZirabevPfizer Inc.Jun 2019761099BiosimilarApprovedS001, S016
FDAAlymsysAmneal Pharmaceuticals LLCApr 2022761231BiosimilarApprovedS001, S016
FDAVegzelmaCELLTRION, Inc.Sep 2022761268BiosimilarApprovedS001, S016
FDAAvziviBio-Thera Solutions, Ltd.Dec 2023761198BiosimilarApprovedS001, S016
FDAJobevneBiocon Biologics Inc.Apr 2025761175BiosimilarApprovedS001, S016
EMAMvasiAmgen Technology (Ireland) UCJan 2018EMEA/H/C/004728ApprovedS017
EMAZirabevPfizer Europe MA EEIGFeb 2019EMEA/H/C/004697ApprovedS017
EMAAybintioSamsung Bioepis NL B.V.Aug 2020EMEA/H/C/005106ApprovedS017
EMAEquidacentCentus Biotherapeutics Europe LimitedSep 2020EMEA/H/C/005181WithdrawnS017
EMAOnbevziSamsung Bioepis NL B.V.Jan 2021EMEA/H/C/005640WithdrawnS017
EMAAlymsysMabxience Research SLMar 2021EMEA/H/C/005286ApprovedS017
EMAOyavasSTADA Arzneimittel AGMar 2021EMEA/H/C/005556ApprovedS017
EMAAbevmyBiosimilar Collaborations Ireland LimitedApr 2021EMEA/H/C/005327ApprovedS017
EMAVegzelmaCelltrion Healthcare Hungary Kft.Aug 2022EMEA/H/C/005534ApprovedS017
EMAAvziviFGK Representative Service GmbHJul 2024EMEA/H/C/005574ApprovedS017
EMALextemyMylan IRE Healthcare Limitednot publishedEMEA/H/C/005611WithdrawnS017
EMAApplication 005995Applicant not yet named by EMAsince Dec 2025EMEA/H/C/005995Under reviewS019
EMAApplication 006944Applicant not yet named by EMAsince Jul 2026EMEA/H/C/006944Under reviewS019
MHRAAbevmyNot shown in the MHRA substance listnot shownnot publishedApprovedS023
MHRAAlymsysNot shown in the MHRA substance listnot shownnot publishedApprovedS023
MHRAOyavasNot shown in the MHRA substance listnot shownnot publishedApprovedS023
MHRAAybintioNot shown in the MHRA substance listnot shownnot publishedApprovedS023
MHRAVegzelmaNot shown in the MHRA substance listnot shownnot publishedApprovedS023
MHRAZirabevNot shown in the MHRA substance listnot shownnot publishedApprovedS023
MHRAAnkevdaNot shown in the MHRA substance listnot shownnot publishedApprovedS023
MHRABevqolvaNot shown in the MHRA substance listnot shownnot publishedApprovedS023
MHRAVersavoNot shown in the MHRA substance listnot shownnot publishedApprovedS023
PMDABevacizumab BS [Pfizer]Pfizer JapanJun 2019not publishedApprovedS020
PMDABevacizumab BS AmgenAmgen K.K.Sep 2019not publishedApprovedS020
PMDABevacizumab BS Nichi-IkoNichi-Iko PharmaceuticalJan 2022not publishedApprovedS020
PMDABevacizumab BS CTNKNippon Kayaku (Celltrion)Sep 2022not publishedApprovedS020
HCMvasiAmgen Canada INCApr 2018DIN 02470748, 02470756ApprovedS022
HCZirabevPfizer Canada ULCJun 2019DIN 02489430, 02489449ApprovedS022
HCBambeviApotex INCSep 2021DIN 02520729, 02520737ApprovedS022
HCAbevmyBiocon Biologics Canada INCNov 2021DIN 02522160, 02522179ApprovedS022
HCAybintioSamsung Bioepis CO., LTDNov 2021DIN 02522829, 02522837ApprovedS022
HCVegzelmaCelltrion INC.Jan 2023DIN 02534177, 02534185ApprovedS022
CDSCOReliance Life Sciences (INN only)Reliance Life Sciences Pvt LtdJan 2016MF-48/2016ApprovedS014
CDSCOHetero Drugs (INN only)Hetero Drugs LimitedMay 2016MF-63/2016ApprovedS014
CDSCOIntas Pharmaceuticals (INN only)Intas Pharmaceuticals LtdJun 2016MF-65/2016ApprovedS014
CDSCOKrabevaBiocon LimitedMay 2017MF-90/2017ApprovedS014
CDSCOCadila Healthcare (INN only)Cadila Healthcare LtdMay 2017MF-097/2017ApprovedS014
CDSCODr. Reddy's Laboratories (INN only)Dr. Reddy's Laboratories LtdSep 2018MF/BIO/18/000025ApprovedS014
CDSCOEnzene Biosciences (INN only)Enzene Biosciences LtdFeb 2023MF/BIO/23/000011ApprovedS011
CDSCOCuraTeQ Biologics Private (INN only)CuraTeQ Biologics Private LimitedMay 2026MF/BIO/26/000060ApprovedS011
EDEMvasiAmgen Technology (Ireland) Unlimited CompanyApr 2020not publishedRegisteredS018
EDEZirabevPfizer Service Company BVBA, BelgiumDec 2020not publishedRegisteredS018
EDEAbevmyBiocon Biologics Limited, IndiaFeb 2022not publishedRegisteredS018

Last checked Sep 2026. US interchangeability designations are listed in full on the interchangeable biosimilars page. CDSCO lists permissions by firm and INN, not brand. PMDA's list and the UAE directory do not publish application numbers; Canadian dates are the first approval or market date recorded in the Drug Product Database.

Regulatory pathway by market

Requirements for a bevacizumab biosimilar under the guidance in force in September 2026.

FDA, United StatesEMA, European UnionMHRA, United KingdomPMDA, JapanHealth CanadaCDSCO, IndiaEDE, UAE
Legal pathwaySection 351(k) of the Public Health Service Act (BPCIA 2009)Article 10(4) of Directive 2001/83/EC; centralised procedure is mandatory for biotechnology productsUK marketing authorisation from MHRA. EU approvals in force at the end of 2020 became Great Britain licences automatically; new products since 2021 are approved through reliance on EMA or FDA decisions, and from 2024 through the International Recognition Procedure. Northern Ireland follows EU licencesMHLW approval on PMDA review under the Guideline for Ensuring Quality, Safety and Efficacy of Biosimilars (2009, revised 2020), with Q&A updates in 2024 and 2026Notice of Compliance under the Food and Drug Regulations as a biosimilar biologic drug, assessed under Health Canada's guidance on biosimilars (2016, revised 2022 and 2026)Guidelines on Similar Biologics (CDSCO and DBT, 2016, in force); revised draft published May 2025Registration through the Emirates Drug Establishment; the public directory does not distinguish biosimilars from other biologicals
Reference productUS-licensed reference; a non-US comparator may be used with analytical and PK bridgingEU-authorised reference; a non-EEA comparator may be used with bridging dataReference biologic authorised in the UK, or an EU-authorised version with bridging dataThe original biopharmaceutical approved in Japan; foreign-sourced reference accepted with bridging since the 2020 revisionReference biologic drug authorised in Canada, or a non-Canadian version of it with bridging dataProduct licensed in India, or if not, one licensed in an ICH country, with justificationNot stated in the public directory; registration relies on assessment by reference regulators
Comparative clinical studyDraft guidance (October 2025): comparative analytical assessment plus a PK similarity study and immunogenicity assessment; a comparative efficacy study is generally not neededReflection paper adopted March 2026: a comparative efficacy trial can be waived when analytical and PK comparability is sufficientFollows the EU guideline; MHRA's 2021 biosimilar guidance states that a comparative efficacy trial is generally not needed where analytical and pharmacokinetic comparability is shownComparative PK study and, in principle, a comparative efficacy study; the May 2026 early consideration sets out when the efficacy study can be omitted, and Japanese patient data are no longer required in every case (2025)Comparative structural and functional studies, PK and, where warranted, PD equivalence; the 2026 revision reduces the expectation of comparative efficacy trials in line with FDA and EMAComparative PK/PD study and a comparative safety and efficacy study are generally expected, followed by a post-marketing studyAssessed on the dossier accepted by the reference regulator
InterchangeabilityA separate designation permitting pharmacy-level substitution; switching studies generally not required under the June 2024 draftEMA and HMA statement (September 2022): EU biosimilars are interchangeable with their reference; substitution rules are set by each member stateNo designation; MHRA considers approved biosimilars interchangeable with their reference, and switching is decided by the prescriber and by NHS commissioningNot defined; prescribing by brand, with pharmacist substitution not automaticNo federal designation; substitution and mandatory switching policies are set by each province, several of which have required switching since 2019Not defined in the guidelinesNot defined
NamingINN plus a four-letter suffixINN, identical to the reference; brand name and batch recorded for pharmacovigilanceBrand name with the non-proprietary name; licence numbers PL, PLGB or PLNIINN followed by BS (biosimilar), strength, form and the company name in quotation marks, with a biosimilar number in the non-proprietary nameNon-proprietary name identical to the reference, with brand name and DIN as identifiersINN with the brand nameBrand name as registered

Sources: FDA draft guidance on comparative efficacy studies (October 2025) and interchangeability (June 2024); EMA reflection paper EMA/CHMP/BMWP/60916/2025 (March 2026) and EMA/HMA statement on interchangeability (September 2022); CDSCO Guidelines on Similar Biologics 2016 and 2025 draft (S009, S010); EDE directory (S018); MHLW/PMDA biosimilar guideline and notifications (S021); Health Canada guidance on biosimilar biologic drugs; MHRA guidance on the licensing of biosimilar products (2021).

EvySaif prepares the comparative evidence plan and the regional dossier strategy for bevacizumab programmes. Regulatory strategy consulting

Presentations and concentration

All presentations are 25 mg/mL concentrate for infusion; 100 mg in 4 mL and 400 mg in 16 mL single-use vials.

ProductFDAEMAMHRAPMDAHCCDSCOEDE
Mvasi ABP 215
100 mg/4 mL, 400 mg/16 mL
see SmPC·
100 mg and 400 mg vials
25 mg
·
100 mg/4 mL, 400 mg/16 mL
Zirabev PF-06439535
100 mg/4 mL, 400 mg/16 mL
see SmPC
100 mg/4 mL and 400 mg/16 mL vials
100 mg and 400 mg vials
100, 400 mg
·
100 mg/4 mL, 400 mg/16 mL
Alymsys / Oyavas MB02
100 mg/4 mL, 400 mg/16 mL
see SmPC
25 mg/mL vials
····
Vegzelma CT-P16
100 mg/4 mL, 400 mg/16 mL
see SmPC
25 mg/mL vials
100 mg and 400 mg vials
100, 400 mg
··
Avzivi BAT1706
100 mg/4 mL, 400 mg/16 mL
see SmPC·····
Jobevne / Abevmy / Krabeva Bmab-100
100 mg/4 mL, 400 mg/16 mL
see SmPC
25 mg/mL vials
·
100, 400 mg
100 mg/4 mL and 400 mg/16 mL
400 mg vial (Feb 2022); 100 mg vial (Jun 2022)
Aybintio SB8·see SmPC
25 mg/mL vials
·
100, 400 mg
··
Equidacent FKB238·see SmPC·····
Lextemy·see SmPC·····
Reliance Life Sciences bevacizumab·····
100 mg/4 mL and 400 mg/16 mL
·
Hetero bevacizumab·····
100 mg/4 mL and 400 mg/16 mL
·
Intas bevacizumab·····
100 mg/4 mL and 400 mg/16 mL
·
Zydus bevacizumab·····
100 mg/4 mL and 400 mg/16 mL
·
Dr. Reddy's bevacizumab·····
100 mg/4 mL and 400 mg/16 mL
·
Enzene Biosciences bevacizumab·····
100 mg/4 mL and 400 mg/16 mL
·
CuraTeQ bevacizumab·····
100 mg/4 mL and 400 mg/16 mL
·
EU application 005995·see SmPC·····
EU application 006944·see SmPC·····
Bevacizumab BS Nichi-Iko···
100 mg and 400 mg vials
···
Bambevi····
100, 400 mg
··
Ankevda··
25 mg/mL vials
····
Bevqolva··
25 mg/mL vials
····
Versavo··
25 mg/mL vials
····

EU presentations are listed in each product's SmPC.

Developers by market

DeveloperProductFDAEMAMHRAPMDAHCCDSCOEDE
AmgenMvasi✓✓·✓✓·✓
PfizerZirabev✓✓✓✓✓·✓
mAbxienceAlymsys / Oyavas✓✓✓····
CelltrionVegzelma✓✓✓✓✓··
Bio-Thera SolutionsAvzivi✓✓·····
Biocon BiologicsJobevne / Abevmy / Krabeva✓✓✓·✓✓✓
Samsung BioepisAybintio·✓✓·✓··
Centus Biotherapeutics (Fujifilm Kyowa Kirin and AstraZeneca)Equidacent·withdrawn·····
Mylan (Viatris)Lextemy·withdrawn·····
Reliance Life SciencesReliance Life Sciences bevacizumab·····✓·
Hetero DrugsHetero bevacizumab·····✓·
Intas PharmaceuticalsIntas bevacizumab·····✓·
Cadila Healthcare (Zydus Lifesciences)Zydus bevacizumab·····✓·
Dr. Reddy's LaboratoriesDr. Reddy's bevacizumab·····✓·
Enzene Biosciences (Alkem)Enzene Biosciences bevacizumab·····✓·
CuraTeQ Biologics (Aurobindo)CuraTeQ bevacizumab·····✓·
Applicant not yet named by EMAEU application 005995·review·····
Applicant not yet named by EMAEU application 006944·review·····
Nichi-Iko PharmaceuticalBevacizumab BS Nichi-Iko···✓···
ApotexBambevi····✓··
Not stated in the MHRA listAnkevda··✓····
Not stated in the MHRA listBevqolva··✓····
Not stated in the MHRA listVersavo··✓····

Entering a market where a competitor is already listed changes the evidence and pricing conversation. EvySaif's global value dossier and HTA submission work covers that side.

Products

Mvasi

ABP 215 · Amgen
Mvasi (USA, EU, UAE)
FDA Sep 2017EMA Jan 2018PMDA Sep 2019HC Apr 2018EDE Apr 2020
Approved in 5 of 7 markets

Zirabev

PF-06439535 · Pfizer
Zirabev (USA, EU, UAE)
FDA Jun 2019EMA Feb 2019MHRA licensedPMDA Jun 2019HC Jun 2019EDE Dec 2020
Approved in 6 of 7 markets

Alymsys / Oyavas

MB02 · mAbxience
Alymsys (USA, EU); Oyavas (EU)
FDA Apr 2022EMA Mar 2021MHRA licensed
Approved in 3 of 7 markets

Vegzelma

CT-P16 · Celltrion
Vegzelma (USA, EU)
FDA Sep 2022EMA Aug 2022MHRA licensedPMDA Sep 2022HC Jan 2023
Approved in 5 of 7 markets

Avzivi

BAT1706 · Bio-Thera Solutions
Avzivi (USA, EU)
FDA Dec 2023EMA Jul 2024
Approved in 2 of 7 markets

Jobevne / Abevmy / Krabeva

Bmab-100 · Biocon Biologics
Jobevne (USA); Abevmy (EU, UAE); Krabeva (India)
FDA Apr 2025EMA Apr 2021MHRA licensedHC Nov 2021CDSCO May 2017EDE Feb 2022
Approved in 6 of 7 markets

Aybintio

SB8 · Samsung Bioepis
Aybintio (EU); Onbevzi (EU, withdrawn)
EMA Aug 2020MHRA licensedHC Nov 2021
Approved in 3 of 7 markets

Equidacent

FKB238 · Centus Biotherapeutics (Fujifilm Kyowa Kirin and AstraZeneca)
Equidacent (EU, withdrawn)
EMA withdrawn
No approval yet in the seven markets

Lextemy

code not published · Mylan (Viatris)
Lextemy (EU, withdrawn)
EMA withdrawn
No approval yet in the seven markets

Reliance Life Sciences bevacizumab

code not published · Reliance Life Sciences
Brand not published by CDSCO (India)
CDSCO Jan 2016
Approved in 1 of 7 markets

Hetero bevacizumab

code not published · Hetero Drugs
Brand not published by CDSCO (India)
CDSCO May 2016
Approved in 1 of 7 markets

Intas bevacizumab

code not published · Intas Pharmaceuticals
Brand not published by CDSCO (India)
CDSCO Jun 2016
Approved in 1 of 7 markets

Zydus bevacizumab

code not published · Cadila Healthcare (Zydus Lifesciences)
Brand not published by CDSCO (India)
CDSCO May 2017
Approved in 1 of 7 markets

Dr. Reddy's bevacizumab

code not published · Dr. Reddy's Laboratories
Brand not published by CDSCO (India)
CDSCO Sep 2018
Approved in 1 of 7 markets

Enzene Biosciences bevacizumab

code not published · Enzene Biosciences (Alkem)
Brand not published by CDSCO (India)
CDSCO Feb 2023
Approved in 1 of 7 markets

CuraTeQ bevacizumab

code not published · CuraTeQ Biologics (Aurobindo)
Brand not published by CDSCO (India)
CDSCO May 2026
Approved in 1 of 7 markets

EU application 005995

code not published · Applicant not yet named by EMA
Under evaluation by EMA since December 2025
EMA under review
No approval yet in the seven markets

EU application 006944

code not published · Applicant not yet named by EMA
Under evaluation by EMA since July 2026
EMA under review
No approval yet in the seven markets

Bevacizumab BS Nichi-Iko

code not published · Nichi-Iko Pharmaceutical
Bevacizumab BS Nichi-Iko (Japan)
PMDA Jan 2022
Approved in 1 of 7 markets

Bambevi

code not published · Apotex
Bambevi (Canada)
HC Sep 2021
Approved in 1 of 7 markets

Ankevda

code not published · Not stated in the MHRA list
Ankevda (UK)
MHRA licensed
Approved in 1 of 7 markets

Bevqolva

code not published · Not stated in the MHRA list
Bevqolva (UK)
MHRA licensed
Approved in 1 of 7 markets

Versavo

code not published · Not stated in the MHRA list
Versavo (UK)
MHRA licensed
Approved in 1 of 7 markets

In development

ClinicalTrials.gov holds nineteen comparative trials of thirteen bevacizumab biosimilar candidates against the reference product, run by twelve sponsors. Eight of the candidates (BCD-021, BP102, HD204, IBI305, RPH-001, SCT510, TAB008, TRS003) have no approval yet in any of the seven markets, so they show where the next competition may come from. Trials are listed with the sponsor's own wording for status and dates.

CandidateDeveloper or sponsorReference productPhaseDesignRegistry statusStartedPrimary completionIn the AtlasRegistry record
TAB008BioDlinkAvastinPhase 3Comparative efficacyCompletedOct 2017Mar 2020no approval in the seven marketsNCT05427305
BCD-021BiocadAvastinPhase 3Comparative efficacyCompletedOct 2012Nov 2014no approval in the seven marketsNCT01763645
CT-P16CelltrionAvastinPhase 1Comparative PKCompletedAug 2017Dec 2017VegzelmaNCT03247673
BP102HengruiAvastinPhase 3Comparative efficacyCompletedJan 2018Oct 2019no approval in the seven marketsNCT05169801
IBI305InnoventAvastinPhase 1Comparative PKCompletedMar 2017Aug 2017no approval in the seven marketsNCT03083990
PF-06439535PfizerAvastinPhase 1Comparative PKCompletedJan 2014Aug 2014ZirabevNCT02031991
PF-06439535PfizerAvastin (as licensed reference)Phase 1Comparative PKWithdrawnJan 2021Jul 2021ZirabevNCT04126044
HD204Prestige BiopharmaAvastinPhase 3Comparative efficacyActive, not recruitingNov 2019Jul 2024no approval in the seven marketsNCT03390686
SB8Samsung BioepisAvastinPhase 1Comparative PKCompletedApr 2015Sep 2015AybintioNCT02453672
SB8Samsung BioepisAvastinPhase 3Comparative efficacyCompletedJul 2016Jan 2018AybintioNCT02754882
SCT510Sinocelltech (hospital sponsor)AvastinPhase 1Comparative PKCompletedMay 2018Nov 2018no approval in the seven marketsNCT05113511
RPH-001TRPharmAvastinPhase 1Comparative PKWithdrawnDec 2017Jan 2018no approval in the seven marketsNCT03131700
TRS003TeruisiAvastinPhase 1Comparative PKCompletedJun 2018Sep 2018no approval in the seven marketsNCT03882424
MB02mAbxienceAvastinPhase 1Comparative PKCompletedAug 2019Dec 2019Alymsys / OyavasNCT04238650
MB02mAbxienceAvastinPhase 1Comparative PKCompletedDec 2017May 2019Alymsys / OyavasNCT03293654
MB02mAbxienceAvastinPhase 3Comparative efficacyCompletedFeb 2018Jul 2019Alymsys / OyavasNCT03296163
MB02mAbxienceAvastinPhase 1Comparative PKCompletedJan 2021Aug 2021Alymsys / OyavasNCT04408989
BEVZ92mAbxienceAvastinPhase 1Comparative PKCompletedOct 2014Oct 2015Alymsys / OyavasNCT02069704
MB02mAbxienceAvastinPhase 1Comparative PKCompletedSep 2019Mar 2020Alymsys / OyavasNCT04238663

Registry data from ClinicalTrials.gov, entered by the sponsors and not verified by any regulator. Status and dates are as posted; sponsors often update them late. Trials registered only on other registries, such as India's CTRI or China's ChiCTR, are not included. Checked 12 Sep 2026. The full list across all molecules is on the pipeline page.

Questions

Which was the first bevacizumab biosimilar?

Reliance Life Sciences in India, in 2016. The first in Europe and the United States, Amgen's Mvasi, came the following year.

How is a bevacizumab biosimilar tested?

Laboratory comparison, a study in healthy volunteers, and a clinical comparison in lung cancer, which regulators accept as covering the other cancers too.

Are bevacizumab biosimilars interchangeable in the United States?

No. None carries the designation, which matters little for a hospital-infused drug.

Which bevacizumab biosimilars are registered in the UAE?

Products from Amgen, Pfizer and Biocon, alongside Avastin.

Why are there so many Indian bevacizumab biosimilars?

The cancers it treats are common, the antibody is comparatively simple to make, and the reference product was costly. Seven Indian companies hold permissions.

Does any biosimilar cover liver cancer?

In India, some products have been permitted for liver cancer in combination with another antibody. Elsewhere, biosimilar labels follow the reference product at the time of approval.

Work with EvySaif on bevacizumab

Bevacizumab biosimilar landscape report

The register on this page as a delivered document: every approval, holder, presentation and pathway requirement across FDA, EMA, CDSCO and the Gulf, updated to the month, with the sources attached.

Request the landscape report

Regulatory gap assessment

For a developer deciding whether and where to file: a review of your analytical, PK and clinical package against what each regulator expects for bevacizumab, with the gaps ranked and a filing sequence recommended.

About the gap assessment

Sources

Planning bevacizumab biosimilar development?

EvySaif can help assess your regulatory pathway, clinical evidence requirements and market-entry strategy across India, UAE and other target markets.

Talk to a biosimilar regulatory consultant
Data current to September 2026.