Home/Biosimilar Atlas/Adalimumab/Real World Evidence

Adalimumab biosimilars: real-world and switching evidence

What the evidence shows

Evidence intelligence
23published studies
7trials with repeated switching
7trials with a single switch
9real-world cohorts
6diseases covered
8products covered
  • Studies found23 studies in six diseases: rheumatoid arthritis, psoriatic arthritis, axial spondyloarthritis, psoriasis, Crohn disease and ulcerative colitis. Seven trials switched patients more than once, seven switched them once, and nine followed switches made in hospitals and national programmes.
  • Interchangeability trialsCyltezo, Simlandi, Yuflyma, Hulio and Amjevita each have a trial built for the FDA interchangeability decision. All five found the same drug levels in patients who switched and in patients who stayed on Humira, with no difference in response, side effects or antibodies.
  • Biggest studiesDenmark moved every patient on Humira to a biosimilar in 2018. 1,318 arthritis patients and 525 psoriasis patients were followed for a year. Nine in ten arthritis patients were still on the biosimilar after one year, and psoriasis patients did equally well on Hyrimoz and Imraldi.
  • Switching between two biosimilarsThree studies, all in bowel disease. In Turin, 61 Crohn disease patients moved from Amgevita to Imraldi and 54 were still on it six months later. In Edinburgh, patients with injection-site pain on Imraldi were moved to Amgevita. In Kuwait, 208 patients who had switched more than once did as well as 58 who had switched once, with 95 in 100 staying in remission and no one stopping.
  • Products with evidenceAbrilada, Amjevita, Cyltezo, Hadlima, Hulio, Hyrimoz, Simlandi, Yuflyma. No published switching study yet for Yusimry or for the Indian and Japanese products.
  • What is missingNo study from India. The one Gulf study, from Kuwait, does not name the products used. No study in children. None in hidradenitis suppurativa or uveitis. Only one trial programme followed patients beyond two years.

Studies

Disease
Product

Trials with repeated switching

Patients switched between Humira and the biosimilar more than once, with a control group that stayed on Humira. FDA interchangeability decisions rest on this design.

StudyDiseaseSwitchProductsPatients switchedFollow-upWhat the authors report
Yamauchi 2026
Adv Ther 2026;43(6):2795-2808
85 centres in Canada, Estonia, Germany, Latvia, Poland and the USA
Plaque psoriasisRepeated switches between reference and biosimilar (three switches, last to ABP 501)Amjevita18630 weeks (PK weeks 28 to 30)Pharmacokinetic similarity demonstrated between the switching and continued-use groups for AUCtau and Cmax at weeks 28 to 30; adherence, completion and discontinuation similar between groups.
Deodhar 2025
Adv Ther 2025;42(8):3795-3809
Multicentre, Europe
Plaque psoriasisRepeated switches between reference (high concentration) and biosimilar (low concentration)Hulio18128 weeksAUCtau, Cmax and Cmin for weeks 26 to 28 within 80 to 125%; PASI responses and sPGA success highly similar at week 28; safety and immunogenicity comparable. FDA interchangeability granted.
Lebwohl 2025
Adv Ther 2025;42(3):1582-1599
Multicentre, Europe
Plaque psoriasisRepeated switches between reference and biosimilarYuflyma17227 weeks (primary analysis)AUCtau and Cmax ratios for weeks 25 to 27 of 99.45% and 100.45%, 90% CIs within 80 to 125%; efficacy, safety and immunogenicity similar between groups.
Pariser 2025
Dermatol Ther (Heidelb) 2025;15(5):1079-1092
Multicentre, Europe
Plaque psoriasisContinued biosimilar after repeated switching or after continuous referenceYuflymanot stated52 weeksEfficacy maintained (mean PASI improvement from baseline 90.34% at week 52); safety similar between prior groups; immunogenicity did not increase during the extension.
Feldman 2023
BioDrugs 2023;37(4):551-567
23 centres in Georgia, Iceland, Poland, Russia and Ukraine
Plaque psoriasisRepeated switches between reference and biosimilar (three switching periods)Simlandi27752 weeks (switching module to week 28, extension to week 52)AUCtau and Cmax ratios for weeks 26 to 28 within 80 to 125%; PASI, DLQI and sPGA similar; no clinically meaningful differences in immunogenicity or safety.
Menter 2022
Am J Clin Dermatol 2022;23(5):719-728
49 sites, Europe and North America
Plaque psoriasisRepeated switches between reference and biosimilar (three switches)Cyltezo12048 weeksPharmacokinetics equivalent between switching and continuous arms; efficacy, immunogenicity and safety highly similar.
Blauvelt 2018
Br J Dermatol 2018;179(3):623-631
Multicentre, USA and Europe
Plaque psoriasisMultiple switches (up to four) between reference and biosimilarHyrimoz12651 weeksPASI similar between switched and continued groups from week 17 to 51; no relevant safety or immunogenicity differences; no hypersensitivity reported on switching.
Yamauchi 2026Adv Ther 2026;43(6):2795-2808
DiseasePlaque psoriasisSwitchRepeated switches between reference and biosimilar (three switches, last to ABP 501)ProductsAmjevitaPatients186Follow-up30 weeks (PK weeks 28 to 30)
What the authors report

Pharmacokinetic similarity demonstrated between the switching and continued-use groups for AUCtau and Cmax at weeks 28 to 30; adherence, completion and discontinuation similar between groups.

Deodhar 2025Adv Ther 2025;42(8):3795-3809
DiseasePlaque psoriasisSwitchRepeated switches between reference (high concentration) and biosimilar (low concentration)ProductsHulioPatients181Follow-up28 weeks
What the authors report

AUCtau, Cmax and Cmin for weeks 26 to 28 within 80 to 125%; PASI responses and sPGA success highly similar at week 28; safety and immunogenicity comparable. FDA interchangeability granted.

Lebwohl 2025Adv Ther 2025;42(3):1582-1599
DiseasePlaque psoriasisSwitchRepeated switches between reference and biosimilarProductsYuflymaPatients172Follow-up27 weeks (primary analysis)
What the authors report

AUCtau and Cmax ratios for weeks 25 to 27 of 99.45% and 100.45%, 90% CIs within 80 to 125%; efficacy, safety and immunogenicity similar between groups.

Pariser 2025Dermatol Ther (Heidelb) 2025;15(5):1079-1092
DiseasePlaque psoriasisSwitchContinued biosimilar after repeated switching or after continuous referenceProductsYuflymaPatientsnot statedFollow-up52 weeks
What the authors report

Efficacy maintained (mean PASI improvement from baseline 90.34% at week 52); safety similar between prior groups; immunogenicity did not increase during the extension.

Feldman 2023BioDrugs 2023;37(4):551-567
DiseasePlaque psoriasisSwitchRepeated switches between reference and biosimilar (three switching periods)ProductsSimlandiPatients277Follow-up52 weeks (switching module to week 28, extension to week 52)
What the authors report

AUCtau and Cmax ratios for weeks 26 to 28 within 80 to 125%; PASI, DLQI and sPGA similar; no clinically meaningful differences in immunogenicity or safety.

Menter 2022Am J Clin Dermatol 2022;23(5):719-728
DiseasePlaque psoriasisSwitchRepeated switches between reference and biosimilar (three switches)ProductsCyltezoPatients120Follow-up48 weeks
What the authors report

Pharmacokinetics equivalent between switching and continuous arms; efficacy, immunogenicity and safety highly similar.

Blauvelt 2018Br J Dermatol 2018;179(3):623-631
DiseasePlaque psoriasisSwitchMultiple switches (up to four) between reference and biosimilarProductsHyrimozPatients126Follow-up51 weeks
What the authors report

PASI similar between switched and continued groups from week 17 to 51; no relevant safety or immunogenicity differences; no hypersensitivity reported on switching.

No study matches this selection.

Trials and extensions with a single switch

Patients on Humira in a trial were moved once to the biosimilar, usually at the half-way point, and followed alongside those who stayed.

StudyDiseaseSwitchProductsPatients switchedFollow-upWhat the authors report
Furst 2022
Rheumatology (Oxford) 2022;61(4):1385-1395
52 centres
Rheumatoid arthritisSingle switch, reference to biosimilarYuflyma15152 weeksEfficacy, pharmacokinetics, safety and immunogenicity similar across groups from week 26 to 52; anti-drug antibody positive at week 52 in 28.3% switched, 28.4% continued CT-P17 and 27.0% continued reference; no adverse effect of a single switch.
Fleischmann 2021
Arthritis Res Ther 2021;23:248
Multicentre
Rheumatoid arthritisSingle switch, reference to biosimilar, at week 26 or at week 52Abrilada255Week 92 (efficacy through week 78)ACR20 at week 52 88.4%, 88.2% and 87.6% for continuous biosimilar, week 26 switch and week 52 switch; responses sustained and comparable through week 78; treatment-emergent adverse events in 42.6%, 37.0% and 50.8%; anti-drug antibodies in 46.1%, 46.5% and 54.2%.
Alten 2020
Int J Rheum Dis 2020
Multicentre
Rheumatoid arthritisSingle and double switches between reference and biosimilarHulio341Week 100 of the programmeAnti-drug antibody positivity similar for FKB327 and reference at all time points and did not increase across switching sequences.
Genovese 2020
RMD Open 2020;6(1):e000987
Multicentre
Rheumatoid arthritisSingle and double switches between reference and biosimilar (sequences F-F-F, RP-F-F, RP-RP-F, F-RP-F)Hulio290Week 76 of extension (about 2 years)ACR20 83.2% to 85.9% at extension week 30 and stable through week 76 regardless of single or double switching; safety and anti-drug antibody incidence comparable across sequences.
Cohen 2019
Arthritis Res Ther 2019;21:84
Multicentre
Rheumatoid arthritisSingle switch, reference to biosimilar (subjects from the reference arm) plus continued biosimilarAmjevita23768 weeks (about 2 years including the parent trial)Transition from reference to ABP 501 did not affect efficacy, safety or immunogenicity; ACR20 and DAS28-CRP maintained.
Cohen 2018
Ann Rheum Dis 2018;77(6):914-921
Multicentre
Rheumatoid arthritisSingle switch, reference to biosimilarCyltezo14748 weeksChange in DAS28-ESR and ACR20/50/70 similar across switched and continuous groups to week 48; immunogenicity and safety similar; switch had no impact on efficacy, safety or immunogenicity.
Weinblatt 2018
Arthritis Rheumatol 2018;70(5):832-840
Multicentre, Europe
Rheumatoid arthritisSingle switch, reference to biosimilarHadlima12552 weeksACR20/50/70 responses at week 24 maintained after transition and comparable across groups; ACR20 73.4% to 78.8% at week 52; safety and anti-drug antibody incidence comparable.
Furst 2022Rheumatology (Oxford) 2022;61(4):1385-1395
DiseaseRheumatoid arthritisSwitchSingle switch, reference to biosimilarProductsYuflymaPatients151Follow-up52 weeks
What the authors report

Efficacy, pharmacokinetics, safety and immunogenicity similar across groups from week 26 to 52; anti-drug antibody positive at week 52 in 28.3% switched, 28.4% continued CT-P17 and 27.0% continued reference; no adverse effect of a single switch.

Fleischmann 2021Arthritis Res Ther 2021;23:248
DiseaseRheumatoid arthritisSwitchSingle switch, reference to biosimilar, at week 26 or at week 52ProductsAbriladaPatients255Follow-upWeek 92 (efficacy through week 78)
What the authors report

ACR20 at week 52 88.4%, 88.2% and 87.6% for continuous biosimilar, week 26 switch and week 52 switch; responses sustained and comparable through week 78; treatment-emergent adverse events in 42.6%, 37.0% and 50.8%; anti-drug antibodies in 46.1%, 46.5% and 54.2%.

Alten 2020Int J Rheum Dis 2020
DiseaseRheumatoid arthritisSwitchSingle and double switches between reference and biosimilarProductsHulioPatients341Follow-upWeek 100 of the programme
What the authors report

Anti-drug antibody positivity similar for FKB327 and reference at all time points and did not increase across switching sequences.

Genovese 2020RMD Open 2020;6(1):e000987
DiseaseRheumatoid arthritisSwitchSingle and double switches between reference and biosimilar (sequences F-F-F, RP-F-F, RP-RP-F, F-RP-F)ProductsHulioPatients290Follow-upWeek 76 of extension (about 2 years)
What the authors report

ACR20 83.2% to 85.9% at extension week 30 and stable through week 76 regardless of single or double switching; safety and anti-drug antibody incidence comparable across sequences.

Cohen 2019Arthritis Res Ther 2019;21:84
DiseaseRheumatoid arthritisSwitchSingle switch, reference to biosimilar (subjects from the reference arm) plus continued biosimilarProductsAmjevitaPatients237Follow-up68 weeks (about 2 years including the parent trial)
What the authors report

Transition from reference to ABP 501 did not affect efficacy, safety or immunogenicity; ACR20 and DAS28-CRP maintained.

Cohen 2018Ann Rheum Dis 2018;77(6):914-921
DiseaseRheumatoid arthritisSwitchSingle switch, reference to biosimilarProductsCyltezoPatients147Follow-up48 weeks
What the authors report

Change in DAS28-ESR and ACR20/50/70 similar across switched and continuous groups to week 48; immunogenicity and safety similar; switch had no impact on efficacy, safety or immunogenicity.

Weinblatt 2018Arthritis Rheumatol 2018;70(5):832-840
DiseaseRheumatoid arthritisSwitchSingle switch, reference to biosimilarProductsHadlimaPatients125Follow-up52 weeks
What the authors report

ACR20/50/70 responses at week 24 maintained after transition and comparable across groups; ACR20 73.4% to 78.8% at week 52; safety and anti-drug antibody incidence comparable.

No study matches this selection.

Real-world cohorts

Switches carried out in hospitals and national programmes, with outcomes taken from registries and patient records.

StudyDiseaseSwitchProductsPatients switchedFollow-upWhat the authors report
Shehab 2025
J Clin Med 2025;14(24):8819
Multicentre, Kuwait
Crohn disease and ulcerative colitisOriginator to biosimilar and between biosimilars, including multiple switchesnot named266Sustained clinical remission in 95.4% of the multi-switch group and 93.6% of the single-switch group; sustained normal inflammatory markers in 91.5% and 92.3%; no treatment-emergent adverse events, infections or discontinuations in either group.
Sieborg 2025
Acta Derm Venereol 2025;105:adv42572
Denmark, DERMBIO registry (nationwide)
PsoriasisOriginator to biosimilar (non-medical, mandatory)Hyrimoz, Hadlima5251 yearDrug survival hazard ratio 1.11 (95% CI 0.58 to 2.12) for SB5 with GP2017 as reference; no differences in PASI change at 120 days.
Nabi 2024
Ther Adv Musculoskelet Dis 2024
Denmark, DANBIO plus National Patient and Prescription registries
Rheumatoid arthritis, psoriatic arthritis, axial spondyloarthritisOriginator to biosimilar (non-medical, mandatory)Hyrimoz, Hadlima1,3169 months after switchTotal healthcare costs, mainly hospital costs, were largely similar or decreased after the switch; results similar for GP2017 and SB5.
Cingolani 2021
Sci Rep 2021;11:10368
Four IBD units, Italy
Crohn disease and ulcerative colitisOriginator to biosimilarAmjevita, Hadlima806 monthsNo significant change in clinical activity or faecal calprotectin at 6 months in either the ABP 501 or the SB5 group; 8 patients in the ABP 501 group needed added steroids; 14.5% stopped therapy by 6 months.
Derikx 2021
J Crohns Colitis 2021;15(12):2011-2021
Edinburgh IBD Unit, UK (single tertiary centre)
Crohn disease and ulcerative colitisOriginator to biosimilar (elective switch programme); SB5 to ABP 501 double switch in patients with injection-site painHadlima, Amjevita256Median 13.7 months (switch cohort)70.8% of the switch cohort remained on SB5 beyond one year; 90 of 256 discontinued, mainly for adverse events (46) or secondary loss of response (37); no differences in clinical remission, CRP, faecal calprotectin or trough levels between baseline, week 26 and week 52; injection-site pain the most frequent adverse event.
Loft 2021
JAMA Dermatol 2021;157(6):676-683
Denmark, DERMBIO registry (nationwide)
PsoriasisOriginator to biosimilar (non-medical, mandatory)Hyrimoz, Hadlima3481 yearA non-medical switch from originator to biosimilar adalimumab was not associated with a change in 1-year drug retention.
Nabi 2021
Ann Rheum Dis 2021;80(11):1400-1409
Denmark, DANBIO registry (nationwide)
Rheumatoid arthritis, psoriatic arthritis, axial spondyloarthritisOriginator to biosimilar (non-medical, mandatory)Hyrimoz, Hadlima1,3181 yearCombined 1-year retention 89.5%; withdrawal 8.5% on GP2017 and 12.9% on SB5 (HR 0.60 for GP2017); 6-month remission higher with GP2017 (OR 1.72); 3.6% back-switched to originator.
Ribaldone 2021
J Clin Med 2021;10(15):3387
Turin, Italy (single centre)
Crohn diseaseBiosimilar to biosimilar (ABP 501 to SB5); 70.5% were multiple switches (Humira to ABP 501 to SB5)Amjevita, Hadlima616 months88.5% (54 of 61) remained on SB5 at 6 months; switch success (no systemic steroids, no discontinuation, no dose escalation) in 82.0% (50 of 61); CRP above 5 mg/L predicted switch failure; side effects in 7 patients (11.5%) against 1 (1.6%) in the six months before the switch.
Lukas 2020
J Crohns Colitis 2020;14(7):915-919
IBD Center ISCARE, Prague, Czech Republic (single centre)
Crohn disease (86%) and ulcerative colitisOriginator to biosimilarHadlima9310 weeksNo difference in disease activity, CRP or faecal calprotectin between week 0 and week 10 in either cohort; adalimumab trough levels stable after the switch; no new safety signals.
Shehab 2025J Clin Med 2025;14(24):8819
DiseaseCrohn disease and ulcerative colitisSwitchOriginator to biosimilar and between biosimilars, including multiple switchesProductsnot namedPatients266Follow-up
What the authors report

Sustained clinical remission in 95.4% of the multi-switch group and 93.6% of the single-switch group; sustained normal inflammatory markers in 91.5% and 92.3%; no treatment-emergent adverse events, infections or discontinuations in either group.

Sieborg 2025Acta Derm Venereol 2025;105:adv42572
DiseasePsoriasisSwitchOriginator to biosimilar (non-medical, mandatory)ProductsHyrimoz, HadlimaPatients525Follow-up1 year
What the authors report

Drug survival hazard ratio 1.11 (95% CI 0.58 to 2.12) for SB5 with GP2017 as reference; no differences in PASI change at 120 days.

Nabi 2024Ther Adv Musculoskelet Dis 2024
DiseaseRheumatoid arthritis, psoriatic arthritis, axial spondyloarthritisSwitchOriginator to biosimilar (non-medical, mandatory)ProductsHyrimoz, HadlimaPatients1,316Follow-up9 months after switch
What the authors report

Total healthcare costs, mainly hospital costs, were largely similar or decreased after the switch; results similar for GP2017 and SB5.

Cingolani 2021Sci Rep 2021;11:10368
DiseaseCrohn disease and ulcerative colitisSwitchOriginator to biosimilarProductsAmjevita, HadlimaPatients80Follow-up6 months
What the authors report

No significant change in clinical activity or faecal calprotectin at 6 months in either the ABP 501 or the SB5 group; 8 patients in the ABP 501 group needed added steroids; 14.5% stopped therapy by 6 months.

Derikx 2021J Crohns Colitis 2021;15(12):2011-2021
DiseaseCrohn disease and ulcerative colitisSwitchOriginator to biosimilar (elective switch programme); SB5 to ABP 501 double switch in patients with injection-site painProductsHadlima, AmjevitaPatients256Follow-upMedian 13.7 months (switch cohort)
What the authors report

70.8% of the switch cohort remained on SB5 beyond one year; 90 of 256 discontinued, mainly for adverse events (46) or secondary loss of response (37); no differences in clinical remission, CRP, faecal calprotectin or trough levels between baseline, week 26 and week 52; injection-site pain the most frequent adverse event.

Loft 2021JAMA Dermatol 2021;157(6):676-683
DiseasePsoriasisSwitchOriginator to biosimilar (non-medical, mandatory)ProductsHyrimoz, HadlimaPatients348Follow-up1 year
What the authors report

A non-medical switch from originator to biosimilar adalimumab was not associated with a change in 1-year drug retention.

Nabi 2021Ann Rheum Dis 2021;80(11):1400-1409
DiseaseRheumatoid arthritis, psoriatic arthritis, axial spondyloarthritisSwitchOriginator to biosimilar (non-medical, mandatory)ProductsHyrimoz, HadlimaPatients1,318Follow-up1 year
What the authors report

Combined 1-year retention 89.5%; withdrawal 8.5% on GP2017 and 12.9% on SB5 (HR 0.60 for GP2017); 6-month remission higher with GP2017 (OR 1.72); 3.6% back-switched to originator.

Ribaldone 2021J Clin Med 2021;10(15):3387
DiseaseCrohn diseaseSwitchBiosimilar to biosimilar (ABP 501 to SB5); 70.5% were multiple switches (Humira to ABP 501 to SB5)ProductsAmjevita, HadlimaPatients61Follow-up6 months
What the authors report

88.5% (54 of 61) remained on SB5 at 6 months; switch success (no systemic steroids, no discontinuation, no dose escalation) in 82.0% (50 of 61); CRP above 5 mg/L predicted switch failure; side effects in 7 patients (11.5%) against 1 (1.6%) in the six months before the switch.

Lukas 2020J Crohns Colitis 2020;14(7):915-919
DiseaseCrohn disease (86%) and ulcerative colitisSwitchOriginator to biosimilarProductsHadlimaPatients93Follow-up10 weeks
What the authors report

No difference in disease activity, CRP or faecal calprotectin between week 0 and week 10 in either cohort; adalimumab trough levels stable after the switch; no new safety signals.

No study matches this selection.

Switching evidence is what regulators, tender committees and formulary boards ask for before a change of product. EvySaif prepares interchangeability and switching dossiers and designs real-world studies for biosimilar programmes. Regulatory strategy consulting

Sources

Planning adalimumab biosimilar development?

EvySaif can help assess your regulatory pathway, clinical evidence requirements and market-entry strategy across India, UAE and other target markets.

Talk to a biosimilar regulatory consultant
Data current to September 2026.